Temperature sending unit?? Temp gauge CJ? - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 05-25-2011, 06:23 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
2010 JK Wrangler 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Plymouth Meeting, PA
Posts: 341
Temperature sending unit?? Temp gauge CJ?

I installed a new water pump, thermostat and fan clutch on my amc 360 in my 1982 scrambler.. started the jeep up and let it run for a while.. it seems like everything is working properly but the temp gauge is only moving a little bit. it is the standard gauge cluster form the cj that has the fuel and the temp along with the miles and spedo. The fuel gauge jut stopped moving as well. is that gauge cluster grounded somewhere?

I tested the wire for the temperature sending unit. I took a 12 volt test light grounded it on the negative terminal turned the key on and stuck it on the end of the temperature sending unit wire and the test light pulsed with power.. shouldn't that be lit up solid? what would cause the light to pulse?

any insight would be great. i am nervous to drive the jeep because i don't want o be driving around and have it over heat.

qUittErs nEVeR wIN...
Goondock is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 Old 05-25-2011, 05:22 PM
Senior Member
james04si's Avatar
1977 CJ5 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arlington TX
Posts: 853
over in the cj forum you might find better help than here for any cj related issues. John Strenk is the man when it comes to gauges and testing them. Here is his link for testing the gauge circuits http://home.roadrunner.com/~john.str...eQuickTest.htm
james04si is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 05-26-2011, 08:15 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
2010 JK Wrangler 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Plymouth Meeting, PA
Posts: 341
Thanks James, i asked the same question on CJ8.com and have gotten some insight. i believe i am just going to order new internal gauges and see if that fixes the problem. i got the fuel gauge working last night but the Temperature gauge reads max..

i believe it is a bad strap between the two gauges. from what i have read that strap is supposed to give + or- 5 volts i have 12 which leads me to believe there is a bad strap. but they don't sell that separately . so new gauges here i come.

Thanks for the reply.

qUittErs nEVeR wIN...
Goondock is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Fuel gauge/sending unit wiring JTSCRAMBER82 Audio, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical 0 04-17-2010 10:54 AM
where is temp sending unit on my 258/6cyl walt3006 Engines & Drivetrain 2 02-04-2010 06:12 AM
temp sending unit and guage problem. richardcj7 Audio, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical 5 07-05-2009 08:37 PM
4.0 head swap... Temp sending unit exodus1500 Engines & Drivetrain 2 12-17-2008 01:09 PM
Oil Sending Unit? SouthernChick Engines & Drivetrain 0 08-09-2008 07:37 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome