Subwoofers/Amp..Opinions! - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > Subwoofers/Amp..Opinions!

New jk doors from steinjagerOconee Off-Road Free Shipping Lifts Tires Bumpers Tops andWarn, Smitybilt, Engo, Rugged Ridge Winches at CCOR

Reply
Unread 09-07-2012, 02:06 PM   #1
acurrier2012
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Machias, Maine
Posts: 80
Subwoofers/Amp..Opinions!

So, currently i have (1) Pioneer (12") Subwoofer, wired to (1) American Legacy 600 Watt Amplifier.

The amp is "bridgeable", you could call it. A.K.A I can run more than one sub off it.

But, how much can the amp take without over-doing it? Just wondering if I can put (2) Pioneer (12") Subwoofers to the (1) Amp.

Is that too much? I read somewhere online (PROBABLY B.S.), that the amp can only take how many watts the subwoofer can.

For example, if (1) Subwoofer was rated for 400 watts, and i wanted (2) Subwoofers, I would need at least a 800 Watt Amp.

Online, i read that my Pioneer (12"), is rated for 1300 Watts. This confused me, as i certainly do not have a 1300 Watt Amp.

Does any of that make sense? Thanks in advance.

acurrier2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-07-2012, 02:39 PM   #2
Bhamshooter
Registered User
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: birmingham, AL
Posts: 598
Look at RMS ratings and Peak ratings. Most speakers have a range.

For example, this Pioneer: http://www.crutchfield.com/p_130W309...11#details-tab

Is rated for 50-400 watts RMS. That is the "constant" power it will accept from an amp. The Peak rating is 1,400 watts. You want an amp that has an RMS rating somewhere in there, probably towards the higher end of the range, without exceeding the range.

For example, this amp: http://www.crutchfield.com/p_777M135...34#details-tab
Has an RMS rating of 210 Watts, and a peak of 750 watts. So based on watts, it would be fine. I don't know enough about ohms and all of the wiring differences available, so wait on someone else to come along with more knowledge on that. But whenever I have run a pair of subs, it was a 2-channel amp, not a mono one like the one I linked. Separate wires to each sub from the amp.
Bhamshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-07-2012, 03:03 PM   #3
acurrier2012
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Machias, Maine
Posts: 80
Thanks for the info!! I would be using the same ground wire, remote wire, etc. that is wired to the amp, just different wires(obviously) from the same amp to the 2nd subwoofer.

But keep the answers/opinions coming!
acurrier2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-07-2012, 05:34 PM   #4
acurrier2012
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Machias, Maine
Posts: 80
Hopefully buying another subwoofer tomorrow. but i need more info!!
acurrier2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-07-2012, 07:56 PM   #5
LA-Sahara
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Thibodaux, Louisiana
Posts: 1,457
What you read is true. If you had 2 400 watt subs, they would need 800 watts together, so you would need a 800 watt amp.
If you can find out the RMS rating of the sub you have and the ohm rating, and then find the RMS power of the amp you have, we could tell you if adding another sub would work or not.
LA-Sahara is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-08-2012, 06:53 AM   #6
acurrier2012
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Machias, Maine
Posts: 80
After reading this, i believe the RMS rating is a max of 300 (which is good, because i want (2), and i have a 600 watt amp). Is that too slim of a margin?

Yiu guys tell me, do it or upgade the amp first?

Sorry for all the questions, as this is my first DIY sound system experience. Id rather not walk out from a store to find my XJ burning to the ground, due to a bad setup.
acurrier2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-08-2012, 11:27 AM   #7
LA-Sahara
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Thibodaux, Louisiana
Posts: 1,457
So if I understand you the subs are 300 watts each? Any idea what ohms they are.
LA-Sahara is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-10-2012, 08:21 PM   #8
misfit77
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: tucson, az
Posts: 614
I wouldn't pay attention to the wattage....I would pay attention to the impedance. Run 10 woofers of you want but don't go below the amount of Ohms your amp can do.
misfit77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-11-2012, 02:28 PM   #9
acurrier2012
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Machias, Maine
Posts: 80
Sorry for not replying for a couple days, been outta town. I currently have 2 subwoofers running off the 600 watt amp. It is a 2 channel amp. Damn thing keeps going off on me. Theres a red "protectant" light that comes on, and the amp/subs stop working.

Call me stupid, but im assuming its too much for the amp? Probably going to have to upgrade. Any ideas? Any suggestions on amps? Maybe ill post some pics up to see if theres any obvious triggers for why this happens. When they work, they work awesome. No problems, until it all goes down hill....lol
acurrier2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-11-2012, 02:55 PM   #10
LA-Sahara
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Thibodaux, Louisiana
Posts: 1,457
That's why you need to figure out the ohms of the subs.
LA-Sahara is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-11-2012, 04:38 PM   #11
acurrier2012
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Machias, Maine
Posts: 80
4 ohms. unless i cant read. that happens sometimes...



http://www.crutchfield.com/p_130TSW3...ml#details-tab
acurrier2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-11-2012, 06:56 PM   #12
LA-Sahara
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Thibodaux, Louisiana
Posts: 1,457
Alright. They are the same subs, right? I assume you have them hooked up bridged. If so, just hook one subwoofer to one channel, and one sub to the other channel.
LA-Sahara is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-11-2012, 10:51 PM   #13
odinseye84
Registered User
2005 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: THE LOW END, chicago
Posts: 376
You seem to be a little lost. A few tips - legacy brand car audio is about the worst you can buy. That 600 watts is probably more like 150 watts. They hyper-inflate their power numbers to sell them. Legacy is one of the classic "flea market" companies. Secondly, bridgeable means you are combining both of the channels to a mono channel. You can run AS MANY subs as you want off of 1 channel as long as the impedance is correct. However each sub will get less power the more you add.

Trust me, that amp is probably on its way out, their quality is bottom of the barrel. The whole wattage thing isnt very well understood, I have a 1200 watt sub, I can run it all day with 200 watts... it just wont be very loud.

The sub you listed right there is perfect for that amp. Its a single 4 ohm voice coil which is what a 2 channel amp wants when running mono. If you want louder bass, you are going to have to upgrade, perhaps buy a second pioneer and get a quality mono amp...
odinseye84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-12-2012, 05:07 AM   #14
acurrier2012
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Machias, Maine
Posts: 80
It has to be the amp. I had both subwoofers (yes they are the same), correctly wired to the amp. Looks like ill be buying another amp. Any suggestions?
acurrier2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-12-2012, 02:46 PM   #15
LA-Sahara
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Thibodaux, Louisiana
Posts: 1,457
Again, if they are both 4 ohm subs and you had them hooked up in parallel bridged on the amp, the impedance was too low for the amp hooked up that way. If you hooked one to one channel and the other to the other channel, the impedance would be ok, and it would probably work, just not be very loud. But I agree, I've never heard of American legacy amps.

My vote is always Rockford fosgate, but I think JL is another top one, and ken wood and pioneer ain't bad. Look for an amp that can do 600 watts at a 2 ohm load. A mono amp would be cheaper also.
LA-Sahara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amplifier , pioneer , subwoofer , watts
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.