Subwoofer Mounting - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > Subwoofer Mounting

Bead Lock Wheels! Raceline, Trail Ready, & Trail-GearXHD Heavy-Duty Hood Latches for JK and TJ available at OcoSYE Kits from CCOR! 706-207-4140

Unread 07-10-2010, 05:32 AM   #1
pnarkiew
2008 WK 

Subwoofer Mounting

Hello,
I am pretty new to the car modification scene, and had a question that might be really stupid, but then again I don't know much about car audio. I own a 2008 WK and noticed that in the trunk on the ceiling there is a fairly deep groove from about halfway back in the trunk to above the rear seat head-pieces. I am fairly interested in adding a subwoofer to the vehicle, and noticed that an Earthquake SWS 8" or 10" in its smallest possible box (11"x11"x3" for the 8" sub) would fit well in this groove (i dont even think it would even block vision out of the rearview mirror at all).
Is it possible to mount a subwoofer the ceiling of a vehicle and get good sound? Would it be possible to mount this subwoofer in such a way? I wouldnt be worried about such a tricky mounting option if I didnt routinely use up just about all my trunk space.

I really appreciate any response. Again, my knowledge of audio electronics is limited, but I do know when I'd like to get a little deeper and better sound out of my system. Thanks for your time.

pnarkiew is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-10-2010, 12:52 PM   #2
SirGCal