Sirius radio keeps switching over to regular?? - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 04-30-2014, 07:41 AM Thread Starter
V-Powered
Registered User
2015 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Alexandria, Va
Posts: 139
Sirius radio keeps switching over to regular??

Hey all- just wondering if anyone has ever experienced this? I have an '07 with just the regular single disk MP3 player and have never had an issue until now. One day my Sirius radio just inexplicably wouldn't get a signal and after silence for 10 seconds or so, just defaults to regular "terrestrial" radio. Seems like a Sirius Radio thing (and very well could be) and after calling them to "reflash" the signal, it seems to work until I shut off the Jeep. Then, same thing again. My question is, is there some something that could get old & age (antenna) or whatever that could be causing my issues? When it works, the reception is fine- so I was ruling out any issues with the satellite radio antenna on the roll-bar. Oh, and there are no issues with my account...my other car is fine. Sorry for the long post, but this is annoying.


'15 Sunset O HardRock Unlimited 6-speed. There is no such thing as overKILL.
V-Powered is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 05-01-2014, 07:18 AM Thread Starter
V-Powered
Registered User
2015 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Alexandria, Va
Posts: 139
Nobody else?!?

'15 Sunset O HardRock Unlimited 6-speed. There is no such thing as overKILL.
V-Powered is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 05-01-2014, 09:28 AM
strvger01
Registered User
1966 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Two Harbors
Posts: 1,111
sounds like the problem is in your radio. probably a solder joint has come loose or something similar. easiest fix might be to replace your radio. maybe find a replacement from a newer model at your local jy for less money.
good luck to you.

1966 CJ5A, mods are coming
1966 Wagoneer, bone stock
strvger01 is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 05-01-2014, 01:29 PM Thread Starter
V-Powered
Registered User
2015 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Alexandria, Va
Posts: 139
^^ Thanks for the reply. It's just strange that when I call Sirius Radio to get the signal "refreshed" or whatever- it will work. But then later the radio doesn't pick up the signal and only works with the regular terrestrial signal.

'15 Sunset O HardRock Unlimited 6-speed. There is no such thing as overKILL.
V-Powered is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 05-01-2014, 10:31 PM
strvger01
Registered User
1966 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Two Harbors
Posts: 1,111
did you check your antenna? make sure all the connections are tight at the radio and the antenna. also make sure the antenna itself isn't damaged.

1966 CJ5A, mods are coming
1966 Wagoneer, bone stock
strvger01 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 05-02-2014, 07:26 AM Thread Starter
V-Powered
Registered User
2015 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Alexandria, Va
Posts: 139
No known issues with the antenna. Again, if I call in and get the signal "refreshed" with Sirius- all seems fine...till it happens again. I would think if the antenna was jacked up, I'd never receive the signal to begin with...but who knows.

I pretty much just listen to my ipod now in the Jeep- cause I can't stand regular radio & commercials. I guess i'll have to cancel the subscription in the Rubi.

'15 Sunset O HardRock Unlimited 6-speed. There is no such thing as overKILL.
V-Powered is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 05-02-2014, 09:52 AM
Indy
Registered User
 
Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WY
Posts: 3,393
Your jeep is trying to tell you its silly to pay for radio.

I'm the only gay eskimo.
Indy is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 05-02-2014, 08:07 PM
BorderTJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indy
Your jeep is trying to tell you its silly to pay for radio.
I'd rather pay $15/month to hear a variety vs listening to the same 10 songs on my local station. AND I work in a spot that's between antennas so I don't really get a good signal. XM is worth it for me.
BorderTJ is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 05-03-2014, 05:37 PM
SnowdogMarc
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by BorderTJ View Post
I'd rather pay $15/month to hear a variety vs listening to the same 10 songs on my local station. AND I work in a spot that's between antennas so I don't really get a good signal. XM is worth it for me.
I have to agree ^

Broadcast radio has a playlist of about 10=15 songs mixed among commercials and DJ yip yap. I'll take Sat radio any day of the week.

Back on topic, How old is the receiver and is it built into the HU or separate unit? I have one that is about 7 or so years old and the antenna port on the radio itself is getting loose and won't see the antenna at times. I have to wedge a dime under one side of the dock to keep the contacts. I really need to fix it at some point or just get a new radio.

l We're here for a good time. Not a long time. So have a good time the sun can't shine every day.
l_______
/l ,[_____],
l---L -[]lllllll[]-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)____________VE6-SDG
SnowdogMarc is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 05-03-2014, 05:43 PM
Jerry Bransford
Administrator
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Escondido, California
Posts: 64,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by BorderTJ View Post
I'd rather pay $15/month to hear a variety vs listening to the same 10 songs on my local station. AND I work in a spot that's between antennas so I don't really get a good signal. XM is worth it for me.
I canceled Sirius years ago because what they played was nearly predictable and I noticed repeats that made it not worth the $15 to me. Sirius was cool in the beginning but it didn't stand the test of time for me. There are only so many tunes that fit into a category, Sirius doesn't have special access to songs that aren't also played via free stations.

Heck Pandora is free and I see nothing that Sirius offers that Pandora does not. I can fine-tune my Pandora stations like telling it what I like or to never play certain artists or songs which can't be done with Sirius.

Getting Savvy...

When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is online now  
post #11 of 14 Old 05-03-2014, 08:56 PM
SnowdogMarc
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Heck Pandora is free and I see nothing that Sirius offers that Pandora does not.
Correct me if I'm wrong but you need cell service/WiFi in order to use Pandora right?

If that's the case then unfortunately it wouldn't work for me as many of the places I go to work have spotty or no coverage at all. Turning your phone off after leaving the shop so the battery don't go dead by noon searching for signal is not uncommon.

l We're here for a good time. Not a long time. So have a good time the sun can't shine every day.
l_______
/l ,[_____],
l---L -[]lllllll[]-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)____________VE6-SDG
SnowdogMarc is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 05-03-2014, 11:23 PM
BorderTJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford
I canceled Sirius years ago because what they played was nearly predictable and I noticed repeats that made it not worth the $15 to me. Sirius was cool in the beginning but it didn't stand the test of time for me. There are only so many tunes that fit into a category, Sirius doesn't have special access to songs that aren't also played via free stations. Heck Pandora is free and I see nothing that Sirius offers that Pandora does not. I can fine-tune my Pandora stations like telling it what I like or to never play certain artists or songs which can't be done with Sirius.
While there are some songs that eventually get replayed, the fact that there are more stations playing the same type of music (which still makes variety possible) compared to the one terrestrial station I get, XM/Sirius is still better. For me. Pandora is a no-go as I am on a limited data plan and work in an area with no useable signal, even with a cell phone booster. That oil field life...
BorderTJ is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 05-04-2014, 09:44 AM
Indy
Registered User
 
Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WY
Posts: 3,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowdogMarc View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong but you need cell service/WiFi in order to use Pandora right?

If that's the case then unfortunately it wouldn't work for me as many of the places I go to work have spotty or no coverage at all. Turning your phone off after leaving the shop so the battery don't go dead by noon searching for signal is not uncommon.
Ya you need a signal for pandora. But slacker will archive stations for you for when there is no signal.

Friend of mine had xm in his truck. We used it for hunting trips, it towed better than mine. No station we listened to was anything other than a loop dotted with commercials for xm. Definitely not worth it imo.

I'm the only gay eskimo.
Indy is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 05-04-2014, 12:30 PM
Jerry Bransford
Administrator
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Escondido, California
Posts: 64,311
I don't get cell coverage where I wheel either so Pandora would not be an option for me there either. I was thinking more for just general purposes. When I wheel, I just listen to the 8-10k songs I have stored on my iPod.

Getting Savvy...

When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome