Running Wire (CB & Sub Amp) - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 04-19-2015, 04:23 PM Thread Starter
BurbsPrepper
Registered User
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 14
Running Wire (CB & Sub Amp)

Hey all!

I have a CB radio installed in my Cherokee and the antenna cable is running down the passenger side. I will soon be installing an amp for my subwoofer and was wondering which side to run the power cable and RCA cables down?

Thanks!

BurbsPrepper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 04-19-2015, 06:23 PM
SnowdogMarc
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,443
I'd run it down the Drivers side. Keep them as far away from the coax as you can.

l We're here for a good time. Not a long time. So have a good time the sun can't shine every day.
l_______
/l ,[_____],
l---L -[]lllllll[]-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)____________VE6-SDG
SnowdogMarc is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 04-19-2015, 06:43 PM Thread Starter
BurbsPrepper
Registered User
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 14
Gotcha. So, it's okay to run the power cable and RCA down the same side? Good to know. I thought they'd wanna be separate to keep interference as out of the picture as possible.

Last edited by BurbsPrepper; 04-19-2015 at 07:04 PM.
BurbsPrepper is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 04-20-2015, 04:37 PM
SnowdogMarc
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,443
Normally you would want to keep them apart but CB's are prone to all kinds of interference. The more isolated you can keep things away from it the better.
I'd leave the cables a bit long to start with and see if you have any interference before you make things permanent. Then you can trim them to what you need for the final location. It's easier to move something around if the cables are not secured or cut and now too short to try another location.

l We're here for a good time. Not a long time. So have a good time the sun can't shine every day.
l_______
/l ,[_____],
l---L -[]lllllll[]-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)____________VE6-SDG
SnowdogMarc is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 04-20-2015, 07:42 PM Thread Starter
BurbsPrepper
Registered User
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowdogMarc View Post
Normally you would want to keep them apart but CB's are prone to all kinds of interference. The more isolated you can keep things away from it the better.
I'd leave the cables a bit long to start with and see if you have any interference before you make things permanent. Then you can trim them to what you need for the final location. It's easier to move something around if the cables are not secured or cut and now too short to try another location.
Fair enough. I've read that interference between RCAs and power cable is more likely when dealing with crappy cabling. I'll be using good stuff. So, hopefully, it won't be a problem
BurbsPrepper is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome