Rock crawler tunes - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > Rock crawler tunes

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineGrizzly Lockers available at Rockridge4wd.comThe ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! Brough

Unread 02-11-2013, 01:11 PM   #1
bgredjeep
1987 YJ Wrangler 

Rock crawler tunes

Looks like there are plently of threads for guys running silly sound systems in their mall crawlers, so I thought I'd start one for guys looking for ideas for their rock crawlers. If you have your own setup to contribute feel free to post up.

In my Jeep I've been running the same Sony Xplod Cd player for about 10 years. It has survived being full of water, and lots of banging around over the years. For the last 5 years or so my only speakers were a set of under seat speaker pods I was given for free. They sounded ok, but no bass and overall just meh..

I've been thinking about installing an amp and wake tower speakers for a while after hearing a setup my buddy was running. Simple plan. Ditch the CD deck/receiver (the radio stopped working a while back anyhow and CDs are a PITA to carry on the trail), toss the old speakers, install an amp under the passenger seat, wake tower speakers on the cage, and run my phone or MP3 player direct to the amp for music.

First I found a deal on some Bazooka tubbies so I picked those up for the speakers. For the amp I wanted a marine rated unit and found a 2ch MBQuart amp from sonixelectronix for ~$60 after adding a warranty. Thats all I needed for parts so this weekend I did the install.

Step 1, remove the old radio and associated wiring