relay or no... please let me know - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > relay or no... please let me know

Dan's Old as Dirt Birthday Sale!Advance Adapters SYE KitsRIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all

Reply
Unread 09-25-2013, 06:22 PM   #1
tylerp
Registered User
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: three rivers, mass
Posts: 1
relay or no... please let me know

So i was just wondering if you have to have a relay to run off road lights? I wouldnt think you would have to and what would happen if i didnt? If so how do i hook the relay up? thanks.

tylerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-2013, 06:52 PM   #2
CJ7-Tim
Real Jeeps have dents.
 
CJ7-Tim's Avatar
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: out in the garage - Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 21,308
Fire bad, relay good. Use relay.

.
foglight-relay.jpg

__________________
.

According to the National Shooting Sports Foundation, AR-15 sporting rifles account for nearly 20% of all U.S. firearms sales.

Progressive Liberalism: Bringing you new Healthcare ideas so wonderful, they have to include mandatory participation ......

Originally Posted by Ronald W. Reagan: Government is not the solution to our problem; Government is the problem.
CJ7-Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-27-2013, 03:35 PM   #3
Vin
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 3,473
A relay will keep all the higher voltage in the engine bay and out of the cab. Can you run lights without? Yes. Are you better off with? Definitely. Less than a buck for security. Money well spent.
Vin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2013, 11:24 AM   #4
Mainsail
Registered User
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 682
You should always use a relay.

I'm running 900 watts of lighting on the grille of my M1009 and a relay isn't an option; I had to use a 12v solenoid to switch the power from the 24v bus bar.

__________________
Poor grammar is something up with which I shall not put.
Mainsail is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2013, 12:03 PM   #5
kingcat400
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Flat Rock, Mi
Posts: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vin View Post
A relay will keep all the higher voltage in the engine bay and out of the cab. Can you run lights without? Yes. Are you better off with? Definitely. Less than a buck for security. Money well spent.
I think the word you are looking for is amp not volts. Its all 12v in a jeep.
kingcat400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-2013, 07:50 AM   #6
biffgnar
Web Wheeler
 
biffgnar's Avatar
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 13,158
What kind of lights are they? LED setups can be done without relays. Most other types should have relays.
__________________
Thank you Dave Cole, Dynomax, Falken and all the Spec Class sponsors!!
biffgnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-05-2013, 04:44 PM   #7
2jhanna
Web Wheeler
2002 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denton County, TX
Posts: 5,423
I generally use a 10 amp total draw as my threshold for relay or not. Most good quality switches can handle at least 15 amps easy.

This is for any assy, lights, amps, etc. more than 10, use relay.

Like said above, LED setups can draw as little as 3-4 amps.
__________________
jhanna
denton county, tx
2jhanna is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.