Radio Dead and Dome Lights Dead - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 02-25-2004, 11:12 AM Thread Starter
bigjeep310
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 78
Question Radio Dead and Dome Lights Dead

Hey guess Ive had an alpine cd player in my car for like 6 months and it has worked fine with the two front speakers well I decided to install a sub and amp. I wired everything up but the ground were I grounded it was iffy. I had the hood open so that light was on and the dome lights were on. The switch was on accessory (you know like when the fan will start) and I turned on the radio and it played though the front speakers and the amp had power only the sub wouldn't play so I got to fooling around with the sub control on the cd deck and nothing would happen I turned it up a couple notches and everything just went dead. All the dome light and the radio dont work. Everything elese still works fine. I burnt one bulb in the dome lights and I replaced it and nothing wouldn't work. I also changed and checked all the fuses under the dash and under the hood and suggestions

Email me with questions

menace59@aol.com

Thanks

JIM

bigjeep310 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 02-25-2004, 11:15 AM
MSHarnett
Broke Bogger
 
MSHarnett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 8,576
Well the same thing happened to me, but it was just a fuse. Check again under the hood, there is a 30 amp (small green) fuse that controls the lights and radio.

Matt
MSHarnett is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 02-25-2004, 11:34 AM Thread Starter
bigjeep310
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 78
yea I have a 94 YJ though I didn't find a small green fuse. But under the dash I think it says radio relay or something and its not in there but it worked with out it before. Also under the hood there is a fuse called OID or something like that I dont know what it stands for. The guy at the stereo place in town said that the allumination with the radio is tied into the dome lights or something like that Didn't really understand what he said. so

reply back please


JIM
bigjeep310 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 02-25-2004, 03:04 PM
SirGCal
Moderator
 
SirGCal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,940
I'm not sure what he was talking about. There is an illumination wire on many units (Alpine included) that dims the head unit lights when the headlights are on... but...

It sounds like a fuse or relay went bad. I'd get a simple voltage meter and start tracing from the battery back into the system until I found the break.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My MS/Life blog, Audio and Electronic write-ups, project how-tos, pictures, stories, and more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGCal
If you can't take a nano-second to press shift/period/etc. and make proper sentences and paragraphs, I don't know if I can take a few minutes to respond to your topics... It doesn't have to be perfect by any means, but a little effort goes a long way.
SirGCal is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 02-25-2004, 06:29 PM Thread Starter
bigjeep310
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 78
Thanks Any more suggestions I will probably have to do that but if it is the cd player I still have warranty on it so Im ok in that situation.

Thanks Everyone

The thing that puzzles me the most is everything else works but just the dome lights and the radio


JIM
bigjeep310 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 03-07-2004, 12:10 AM Thread Starter
bigjeep310
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 78
Found the Problem

I found the problem today the actual power wire in the harness is shorted out. Anybody got a clue why it shorted out and Howcan i get power to the radio with out running from the battery cause right now i have it hooked into the illumination and everytime the lights get shut off before the car or the car shuts off the radio looses its memory !

Thanks Guys,
Keep Jeep'n

JIM
bigjeep310 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 03-07-2004, 02:03 AM
Islandroaddie96
Registered User
 
Islandroaddie96's Avatar
1996 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Anacortes
Posts: 1,537
There should be a constant 12V+ wire in your harness. It is always powered and should be hooked up to the 12V+ memory wire on your HU. Check in your head unit manual for which wire it is. Sounds like you hooked the illumination wire up to this by mistake. In addition, there will be a switched 12V+ wire and the illumination. Make sure all three of these are going to the right place (they can be easy to confuse) and you will be all set.

Good Luck,

Peter

1996 XJ Sport
4.0L I6 HO; AW4; NP242; D30/D35; 3" Homebrew BB; 31" x 10.5" BFG A/T
Six Harbor Freight Lights (el cheapo)

GREEN JEEP CLUB MEMBER #74
Islandroaddie96 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 03-08-2004, 10:23 AM Thread Starter
bigjeep310
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Islandroaddie96
There should be a constant 12V+ wire in your harness. It is always powered and should be hooked up to the 12V+ memory wire on your HU. Check in your head unit manual for which wire it is. Sounds like you hooked the illumination wire up to this by mistake. In addition, there will be a switched 12V+ wire and the illumination. Make sure all three of these are going to the right place (they can be easy to confuse) and you will be all set.

Good Luck,
Quote:
Originally Posted by Islandroaddie96
Peter


I actually hook it up to the illumanation on purpose because the 12 volt in the harness is dead. Any got any ideas can i run a new power constant 12 volt if so tell me how could you please. Cause when its hooked up the way i do it looses the memory everytime.

THanks
JIM
bigjeep310 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 03-09-2004, 09:06 AM
SirGCal
Moderator
 
SirGCal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjeep310
[I]



I actually hook it up to the illumanation on purpose because the 12 volt in the harness is dead. Any got any ideas can i run a new power constant 12 volt if so tell me how could you please. Cause when its hooked up the way i do it looses the memory everytime.

THanks
JIM
Don't use the illum wire cause it's not designed for the load. It's simple to run a fresh +12V Constant for your radio. Run to an auto parts store and get a small spool of 12 AWG wire (red or yellow preferred) and a 12 AWG inline fuse holder and 20A fuse (likely a blade fuse for that size use).

Now run the wire from the radio, through the gromet on the drivers side firewall, then around the engine (in some wireloom preferred) with the other wires using zip-ties to secure it. Leave a little slack in the wire for extra room (you never know when you wish for 1" more wire...)

Once you get around the computer to the engine, put on the fuse holder and fuse. Then disconnect the negative battery terminal. (the negative terminal should ALWAYS be the first terminal off and the last terminal on.) Once the negative is off, disconnect the positive terminal (some people also use the mounting plate just inside the fuse panel located next to the battery in newer vehicles in the engine bay for easy connection. This is connected directly to the battery with 4 AWG wire which is plenty.) Connect the new power wire and reconnect the positive battery terminal, followed by the negative battery terminal.

Assuming your ground is ok, your now good to go and better off than running through the factory harness anyhow...


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My MS/Life blog, Audio and Electronic write-ups, project how-tos, pictures, stories, and more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGCal
If you can't take a nano-second to press shift/period/etc. and make proper sentences and paragraphs, I don't know if I can take a few minutes to respond to your topics... It doesn't have to be perfect by any means, but a little effort goes a long way.
SirGCal is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 03-15-2004, 10:18 AM Thread Starter
bigjeep310
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGCal
Don't use the illum wire cause it's not designed for the load. It's simple to run a fresh +12V Constant for your radio. Run to an auto parts store and get a small spool of 12 AWG wire (red or yellow preferred) and a 12 AWG inline fuse holder and 20A fuse (likely a blade fuse for that size use).

Now run the wire from the radio, through the gromet on the drivers side firewall, then around the engine (in some wireloom preferred) with the other wires using zip-ties to secure it. Leave a little slack in the wire for extra room (you never know when you wish for 1" more wire...)

Once you get around the computer to the engine, put on the fuse holder and fuse. Then disconnect the negative battery terminal. (the negative terminal should ALWAYS be the first terminal off and the last terminal on.) Once the negative is off, disconnect the positive terminal (some people also use the mounting plate just inside the fuse panel located next to the battery in newer vehicles in the engine bay for easy connection. This is connected directly to the battery with 4 AWG wire which is plenty.) Connect the new power wire and reconnect the positive battery terminal, followed by the negative battery terminal.
Assuming your ground is ok, your now good to go and better off than running through the factory harness anyhow...




I dont understand how to hook it in. Can I hook into the fuse panel inside the car and how? Just put the wire in the hole and put a fuse on top of it. I really dont understand sorry Im dumb.

Help please !
bigjeep310 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 03-15-2004, 10:35 AM
SirGCal
Moderator
 
SirGCal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjeep310
I dont understand how to hook it in. Can I hook into the fuse panel inside the car and how? Just put the wire in the hole and put a fuse on top of it. I really dont understand sorry Im dumb.

Help please !
The simpliest thing to do is to get some 12 AWG wire from an auto store or electronic store. It's a common guage for automotive use. About 15' should be plenty. Then run the wire from the battery, to the driver's side of the vehicle. Then through a rubber grommet above the clutch or gas pedal that has nothing in it. (you might need to take the grommet out and poke a small hole in it to get the wire through. Don't run the wire directly against metal when going through the firewall!!!! Then continue over to the radio and wire it up. Back at the battery, put on a fuse holder with a 20A fuse. (You can get these from the same stores as the wire. Ask for a blade fuse holder for that guage wire and the salesman should be able to direct you to them. (They'll be usually around the fuses also which you'll need a 20A one...)) Following the fuse holder, add another 12" of wire or so (no more than 18") to go to the positive terminal on your battery.

Connect the radio-end first. Then the battery end. To connect the battery end, attach a ring connector to the end of the wire large enough to attach to the battery terminal. Disconnect the negative battery terminal first!!!! Then you can disconnect the positive terminal and attach the new wire. Reattach the positive terminal then the negative terminal. You should now be good to go.

If any of this still seems vague, you might want to go to an electronics installer shop. They'd do this simple task for probably just a few dollars. It should take no more than 15-30 minutes for an experienced installer.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My MS/Life blog, Audio and Electronic write-ups, project how-tos, pictures, stories, and more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGCal
If you can't take a nano-second to press shift/period/etc. and make proper sentences and paragraphs, I don't know if I can take a few minutes to respond to your topics... It doesn't have to be perfect by any means, but a little effort goes a long way.
SirGCal is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 03-15-2004, 02:04 PM Thread Starter
bigjeep310
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 78
With it directly connected to the battery will it drain it. I also have a power wire for my amp (subwoofer) hook to the amp with the affect it also !
One more thing since it will be getting constant power the memory wont be lost will it ?


Thanks,

JIM


PS I completly understand now In the firewall is where i ran my power wire for my amp too ! is that ok ?


Thanks again

Last edited by bigjeep310; 03-15-2004 at 02:07 PM.
bigjeep310 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Melted wires and dead radio noleswin Audio, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical 19 07-21-2009 06:59 PM
Dead radio input? Can it be replaced? Tudds Audio, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical 2 08-03-2008 07:33 AM
Factory Radio Dead???? 04Wrangler2000 Audio, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical 1 01-29-2008 03:45 PM
Dead Radio Mr. Notorious Audio, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical 2 08-15-2005 07:43 AM
TJ Radio Dead jeepdan Audio, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical 2 06-12-2003 08:14 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome