Radio Compatibility...Grand Cherokee - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > Radio Compatibility...Grand Cherokee

Year End Clearance Sale! Save 20%Warn, Smitybilt, Engo, Rugged Ridge Winches at CCORIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Reply
Unread 02-07-2005, 02:13 PM   #1
jj33low
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: near Toledo, OH
Posts: 11
Radio Compatibility...Grand Cherokee

I am looking to replace my in-dash cd/cassette radio in my 1996 Grand Cherokee. What other oem radios are compatible? Would an '05 in-dash unit work? Does anyone know?

__________________
'96 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4x4- daily driver
'04 Subaru WRX (heavily modded)- sports car
jj33low is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-07-2005, 03:14 PM   #2
SS01XJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NE OHIO
Posts: 143
I can't answer your question directly, but in at least one case I know of, Jeep must get a lot of mileage from their radio designs. My brother has a '95 Dodge Spirit that has the same radio in it that my '01 XJ has. I suspect a wide range of models and years would work.

HTH...........Stan
SS01XJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-07-2005, 03:35 PM   #3
99TJSport
Registered User
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Front Royal, VA
Posts: 1,101
For sure I know 96-98 Grand Cherokees, 97-02 Wranglers, 97-01 Cherokees, 94-00(??) Dakotas and 94-01 Dodge Rams will interchange.
__________________
Jeff
08 Rubicon Unlimited, 2.5TF Lift, 285/70/17 BFG KM2s, lots of skids, MyGig, and both sets of doors/tops.

Parrothead Jeepers Union #24
99TJSport is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-07-2005, 06:24 PM   #4
C2U5H
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 2,216
if you're goin to swap, get an aftermarket one...

just go to crutchfield.com, go to "what fits my car?" on the left menu bar, and go find one that you like and is in your price range! have fun!

~J
__________________
• 2012 Crush JK Rubicon on 2.5" and 37s
• 2009 Buell 1125CR
• 1999 TJ on 3" and 33s — gone
C2U5H is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-08-2005, 02:45 PM   #5
jj33low
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: near Toledo, OH
Posts: 11
Thanks for the replies. I am well aware of aftermarket headunits. I once had a demo car sponsored by Polk Momo with a full competition system in it.
For the Jeep, I want to stick with oem for the oem look and would prefer an newer unit, preferably an '05 unit (w/ 6 disk indash). I need to know if they will work and if not what it will take to get them to work.
__________________
'96 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4x4- daily driver
'04 Subaru WRX (heavily modded)- sports car
jj33low is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-09-2005, 07:08 AM   #6
99TJSport
Registered User
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Front Royal, VA
Posts: 1,101
See my above post The 05 units will NOT fit due to changes in the face and the mounting brackets.
__________________
Jeff
08 Rubicon Unlimited, 2.5TF Lift, 285/70/17 BFG KM2s, lots of skids, MyGig, and both sets of doors/tops.

Parrothead Jeepers Union #24
99TJSport is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-09-2005, 01:56 PM   #7
jj33low
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: near Toledo, OH
Posts: 11
Couldn't I just modify the brackets? As lons as the electrical hook ups are the same, I could probably make it work. They are both 1.5 din aren't they?
__________________
'96 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4x4- daily driver
'04 Subaru WRX (heavily modded)- sports car
jj33low is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-10-2005, 07:36 AM   #8
99TJSport
Registered User
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Front Royal, VA
Posts: 1,101
Mounting is actual molded into the platic face of the radio, so there is no way to change it out. As for wiring, your truck will have 2 7 pin plugs, while the new Jeeps have a 1 pieces like 21(?) pin plug. Chrysler does make an adapter harness for them so it's possible, but I really think the mounting will be the biggest problem for you. There's just no easy way to change it.
__________________
Jeff
08 Rubicon Unlimited, 2.5TF Lift, 285/70/17 BFG KM2s, lots of skids, MyGig, and both sets of doors/tops.

Parrothead Jeepers Union #24
99TJSport is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.