Powering my backup camera... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > Powering my backup camera...

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 10-27-2013, 09:18 PM   #1
redsox0229
2007 MK Patriot 

Powering my backup camera...

I recently purchased a backup camera for my 2007 Jeep Patriot. Its the kind that screws into your license plate. I'm not very good at electrical work, but my roommate is, so he helped me wire it. As of now, I have it powered by the reverse lights, so the camera only works when the car is in reverse. I would rather have it where the camera is always powered. My radio allows me to access the camera whenever I want, and I would like to be able to use this option. We tried powering the camera through the tailgate speakers and the cabin light, but neither had enough power to support the camera. Does anyone know of anywhere else to power the camera so it will always be on?

redsox0229 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-27-2013, 09:29 PM   #2
Anticanman
One eloquent mother****er

1994 YJ Wrangler 

Run a dedicated switched power wire to it with a diode between the constant hot wire and the reverse lights.
Unread 10-27-2013, 09:34 PM   #3
redsox0229
2007 MK Patriot 

Can you try to explain that in more laymen's terms? I don't understand a lot of this electrical stuff.

Thanks
redsox0229 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-27-2013, 09:44 PM   #4
Anticanman
One eloquent mother****er

1994 YJ Wrangler