Is my CB ground good enough? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > Is my CB ground good enough?

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFlowmaster's Force II Axle-back exhaust system for the 201FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 06-10-2013, 08:49 PM   #1
WWheeler

2004 TJ Wrangler 

Is my CB ground good enough?

I have a Uniden 520xl radio, a Wilson Flex 3' antenna, and the teraflex tail light mount on the driver's side. This is my first time installing a CB system on a vehicle. I'm getting 1.5 on ch 1 and 2.0 on ch 40. From what I have read, this isn't bad, but not that good. I am not using that ground wire on the antenna(it raised my SWR when I tried) I know I need to shorten my antenna to get ch 40 down. I've already removed the adjustable tip, so now I will have to start cutting the antenna. Before I do that, I want to make sure there is nothing else I should do. I have continuity in all the right places (and no continuity in the other places), and my equipment all checks out with my multimeter. Could my ground just not be good enough even though I have continuity? I did scuff the powder coating off of the teraflex mount to allow metal to metal contact, but only until I got continuity. Does anyone else have this set up? What readings are you getting?

Thanks in advance!

My Build
WWheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-10-2013, 09:06 PM   #2
Knuckelhead
AFSOC Retired

2000 TJ Wrangler 

Try checking the SWR in an open and empty parking lot...
Knuckelhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-10-2013, 09:12 PM   #3
Jerry Bransford
Do it right or not at all

2004 TJ Wrangler