Mulitmeter display not working - need info -
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back > General Technical Discussions > Stereos, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical. > Mulitmeter display not working - need info

6th annual beat your wife to the credit cards sale!!Black Friday and Cyber Monday Sales at JeepHut.comCrawler Conceptz at Black Friday and Cyber Mon

Unread 10-02-2011, 01:24 PM   #1
Senior Member
Colt44's Avatar
1983 CJ7 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Memphis, TN, Tennessee, USA
Posts: 780
Mulitmeter display not working - need info

I have a Craftsman 82028 digital multimeter with an odd problem.

When I measure anything, the bar graph works fine but the numerical readout never says anything but 0L (or .0L, 0.L, etc. so it does look like the auto-ranging feature is working).

For example, if I measure a AA battery, the bar graph shows 15 but the numerical display reads .0L

It's always been like this, but now I'm doing some diagnostics where I really need the numerical value to work.

Am I doing something wrong, or is this thing screwed up?

If the latter, is there any way to fix it, or do I just have to toss it and buy another one?

"We are all of us in the gutter...
Some of us are looking at the stars."
~ Oscar Wilde via Chrissie Hynde
Colt44 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-02-2011, 07:11 PM   #2
Registered User
2001 WJ 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 444
sounds broke to me, something internal... no warranty? Its a pretty cheap model just get you a new one.
hamilton5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-02-2011, 09:13 PM   #3
Registered User
2005 LJ Wrangler 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 2,330
Not sure if craftsman warranties the DMM like it does hand tools. But it's worth a try.
Do you have the ability to select settings over auto ranging? Like the AA battery should be 1.2-1.4V not 15

If it's like this one you may be out of luck.
"Never look down on anyone unless your helping them up"- Jesse Jackson
JPNinPA is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-03-2011, 02:42 AM   #4
Registered User
2007 WK 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Columbia, South Carolina
Posts: 22
Your mulitmeter is actually working fine. Your range on the digital read out is smaller than your graphs. That 15 is probably supposed to be reading 1.5 you just have the range off....the "OL" message means the DMM is reading infinity because it is beyond its range_max.

Try this.....if using the auto range funtion; press mode until you are measuring DCV or it may look like Vdc and then make sure there is only the 10s digit read after decimal point. IF, the DMM is a knob you turn, turn the knob to DCV or Vdc section and set at 20.

Let me know if this solves the problem!
LKFitzgerald1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools

Suggested Threads

Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.