Line Level ~VS~ High Level - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-27-2004, 09:05 PM Thread Starter
yoshisushi
Registered User
 
yoshisushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 83
Line Level ~VS~ High Level

One reason I can imagine that Line Level is better is because it's simpler to hook up (just a pair of RCA cables), but other than that is one better than the other?

I ask because I'm thinking of getting a 4 channel amp that has both. If I can use the High Level imputs for this specific project I'm going to be miles ahead.

yoshisushi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-28-2004, 08:54 AM
AudioGuru
Registered User
 
AudioGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: || <--This close to being banned.
Posts: 783
Line level is better for a few reasons.

High level signals have already been through your deck's amplifier. Basically you are reducing an amplified signal to be amplified again. Any poor audio characteristics of the deck amplifier are going to be present in your external amplifier.

Additionally, when using the high level inputs on an amplifier, you are employing another circuit to handle that signal. Anytime you put a signal through an electronic circuit of any type, you are increasing the noise and decreasing the quality. Keeping that number to a minimum maintains your signal quality.

Line level RCA cables(good ones) are usually shielded, unlike speaker wires. You have a better chance of getting a clean signal into your amplifier. RFI and EMI degradation is less likely with a good shielded interconnect. Remember, amplifiers are stupid; they'll amplify noise right as well as signal.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Don't lie. God said so.
AudioGuru is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-28-2004, 04:33 PM Thread Starter
yoshisushi
Registered User
 
yoshisushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 83
The head unit I have only has one pre-amp output and the 4 channel amp requires two RCA imputs, one for Front and one for Rear.

Is buying a new head unit with two outputs the best/only way to avoid using the high level inputs?
yoshisushi is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 09-28-2004, 04:39 PM
AudioGuru
Registered User
 
AudioGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: || <--This close to being banned.
Posts: 783
Some 4 channel amps allow you to gather the input for all 4 channels from 2 inputs, but most don't. Run one set of RCA cables back from your deck and use 2 RCA Y-Splitters to utilize all 4 inputs. (1 Female to 2 Male).

Monster Y Splitter


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Don't lie. God said so.
AudioGuru is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-28-2004, 05:46 PM Thread Starter
yoshisushi
Registered User
 
yoshisushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 83
Thanks so much for the help....

Does line level have digital info that has all the channels going across one cable? I ask because I'm just wondering if I'll still have Left/Right and Front/Back fade from the head unit using just one RCA output. I really didn't think about any of this when I bought it.

Here are pics of the amp i'm looking at....


~~ and the other end ~~

yoshisushi is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-29-2004, 09:01 AM
AudioGuru
Registered User
 
AudioGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: || <--This close to being banned.
Posts: 783
After looking at your amplifier I can say the following things:

1) You will retain balance control at the deck, however you will lose fader control. Your fade will be set by adjusting your gains(input level) on the amplifier.

2) The Y-splitters I posted earlier will not work since the inputs are too far apart for it to stretch. You'll need a 1 male to 2 female Y splitter and then a very short set of RCAs to jump over to the other input. The male end will plug into the front input, one female end will plug into your RCA coming from the deck. The other female will plug into the short RCA to jump to the rear input.

OR

3) You could run the right RCA to the front input and use a 1F 2M splitter there and run the left RCA to the rear input and use a 1F 2M splitter there as well. Hook your front speakers to both left outputs and rear speakers to both right outputs. This will require a little more time to set your crossovers and gains equally for front & rear(now left & right), but will save you $ on wiring. Remember, amps are stupid, you make them do whatever you want.(disclaimer: this will only work if you are not hooking subs to this amplifier, just peripheral speakers)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Don't lie. God said so.
AudioGuru is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
How large a system can use line level convertors? absentiabanish Audio, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical 6 12-20-2008 07:25 AM
CB SWR level to high, cant figure it out. Help. WKENDWARIOR69 Audio, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical 18 08-19-2008 10:15 AM
Adjusting line level converter 35sUnlimited Audio, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical 4 02-19-2008 09:15 AM
Recommend good line-level converter K1dS3ns4t10n Audio, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical 4 12-03-2006 05:51 PM
Line level Audio dezmoduo Audio, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical 8 03-14-2005 12:41 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome