Issue with RB1/Sirius/iPOD kit - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > Issue with RB1/Sirius/iPOD kit

Oconee Off-Road Now Offering Zone Off-Road Products!!!RIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all USA Standard Chromoly Front Axle Shaft Kits with Dana 30 4

Reply
Unread 10-18-2009, 11:06 AM   #1
OffRoad98
Registered User
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 260
Issue with RB1/Sirius/iPOD kit

I installed my iPOD integration kit yesterday with my Sirius radio. I used the 5066203AA 10ft atrist cable as well. Everything works, but im having two problems. First, when im playing the iPOD, if i let a song play into the next song the display on my RB1 changes the song title but he Artist stays the same. If i scroll up or down the songs remain right but the artists are off by one track. Second, when switching back to Sirius Radio, sometimes the artist and song information doesnt even appear unless i start to switch through a few preset stations. Has anybody else had these problems. FYI im not using the multiplex unit. im wired up Sirius to iPOD unit (via 5066203AA) to RB1.

OffRoad98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-18-2009, 12:48 PM   #2
commodore_dude
Registered User
2006 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 1,227
I don't have the Ipod kit, but I have noticed occasional issues with the Title/Artist info on Sirius that I have to change stations to get it to refresh. It's apparent the RB1 wasn't totally designed for either Sirius or an Ipod so it's probably kind of a hack to get it to work anyway. There are some guys working on modifying the firmware (IE, switching the Title and Artist lines to match every other sat radio tuner in existence) but I don't know if they even have the ability to address these issues.
__________________
2006 Rubicon Unlimited

1998 Buick LeSabre Custom
commodore_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-18-2009, 01:13 PM   #3
OffRoad98
Registered User
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 260
prior to the iPOD kit i can the hacked version of the title/artist cable and didnt have any problem.
OffRoad98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-19-2009, 10:04 PM   #4
OffRoad98
Registered User
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 260
So is it just me? Would adding the multiplex unit help me out at all??
OffRoad98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-21-2009, 08:13 AM   #5
OffRoad98
Registered User
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 260
If i turn the radio off then back on it tends to refresh everything.... gets very annoying.
OffRoad98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-21-2009, 12:42 PM   #6
commodore_dude
Registered User
2006 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 1,227
I have the same issue and I have the multiplexer. I think it's just because the RB1 software isn't very robust.
__________________
2006 Rubicon Unlimited

1998 Buick LeSabre Custom
commodore_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-21-2009, 12:51 PM   #7
OffRoad98
Registered User
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 260
yeah i was leaning more towards the RB1 software....i wonder if there some sort of update?
OffRoad98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.