If you can figure out this problem, I owe you a case of beer! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > If you can figure out this problem, I owe you a case of beer!

Rockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail

Unread 10-01-2012, 10:56 PM   #1
hhisc383
2005 TJ Wrangler 

If you can figure out this problem, I owe you a case of beer!

I have been installing systems in my vehicles for over 10 years and have never had anything as strange as this happen...

I am running 4 8" Infinity Reference 860W subwoofers. Nothing about the setup changed except the new subs and new custom box. Amp is the same, deck is the same, wiring is the same.

Here is the bizarre happenings: When I'm driving down the road with my windows UP, the subs sound amazing! But as soon as I roll down my window even 1/4 of the way, the subs sound like they are distorting, making a sort of 'pop' noise. If I am parked and my window is down, they sound fine...

It also does this at low volume or high volume, so it's not an over-power to the sub problem.

So long story short, it seems to only happen when I am driving 30mph+ and have my window rolled down. The noise is definitely the subs, as it does the 'pop' on almost every note.

Figure it out, win a case of beer! Seriously! It's driving me NUTS :

Unread 10-01-2012, 10:58 PM   #2
hhisc383
2005 TJ Wrangler 

I should also mention, I double-checked all wiring, even taking out each sub and making sure I had everything hooked up properly.
Unread 10-02-2012, 10:19 AM   #3
wjguru86