Help. asd relay problem - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > Help. asd relay problem

All Bilstein shocks & struts - Lowest Prices Ever and Santa Kolak Announces: Kolak Exhaust 20% Off Sale!Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Reply
Unread 05-15-2013, 03:06 PM   #1
Deaconblu
Registered User
1995 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Spanish Fort, Al.
Posts: 3
Help. asd relay problem

Hello, i have a 95 Grand Cherokee that electricly is acting crazy. lott of intermintment problems. very suspishous ecm is bad. My question, when i pull the asd relay there is 12 volts at three of relay inputs with switch on. the bottom slot, one closest to front of car has 8 volts. Is this normal?? Should all four relay inputs have voltage??
thanks for any help/
dnelsonrocks@yahoo.com

Deaconblu is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-18-2013, 08:24 PM   #2
laybackman
Bikini Bridge Inspector
 
laybackman's Avatar
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 6,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deaconblu View Post
Hello, i have a 95 Grand Cherokee that electricly is acting crazy. lott of intermintment problems. very suspishous ecm is bad. My question, when i pull the asd relay there is 12 volts at three of relay inputs with switch on. the bottom slot, one closest to front of car has 8 volts. Is this normal?? Should all four relay inputs have voltage??
thanks for any help/
dnelsonrocks@yahoo.com
With the ignition in the ON position you should have 12V at 2 of the ASD relay pin sockets in the PDC and ground on the third one (which comes from the ECM). The third pin gets voltage through the ASD relay. Keep in mind a relay is nothing more than a heavy duty switch. The relay needs power and round to close the circuit that goes through it to run a specific device(s).

Check the second ground wire that goes from the firewall to the engine block it is may be NG.
__________________
"Taking care of our veterans is a cost of war. If you can spend six trillion dollars sending people to war, you can spend a few billion dollars taking care of them when they come home"
Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.)

If what doesn't kill you, makes you stronger, I should be able to bench press a Grand Cherokee by now!
laybackman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.