Having issues with wiring up lights - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > Having issues with wiring up lights

WJ Tube Doors Now Available!*VOTE NOW Help Metalcloak Giveaway an XJ Suspension*TJ 5.25" Speaker Adapters - NalinMFG

Unread 10-27-2013, 12:39 AM   #1
ek5soccer
2003 TJ Wrangler 

Having issues with wiring up lights

I am new to this, but took my factory fog lights and re wired them to a toggle switch. Since I was new I found and copied the wiring digram for KC lights. Have a 30amp switch with earth, load, supply. 40amp relay with 30, 85,86, 87 and 87a. with a pre made wire harness that goes to the relay. also 30 amp inline fuse. I pigtailed my lights together. grounds to ground then grounded them on the bolt next to my headlight ground. ran the pos. to pos then back to the 87 pos. i have a pos from 30 to the inline fuse then to the battery positive. 86 is ground and 85 is run to my switch which in by my driver side speaker. ran that ground to the speaker ground. (havent found a 12v source to tap into yet.) Ive pretty much ran into a brick wall, any advice or help would be much appreciated.

So any ideas about how to get my lights to turn on would be great. Also where/how i could get my 12v source for my switch.

ek5soccer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-27-2013, 09:23 AM   #2
CJ7-Tim
Real Jeeps have dents.

2000 XJ Cherokee 

Don't use 87a. When the relay is energized. 87a is turned from ON to OFF and at the same time 87 is turn ON. Power both lamps from 87.

Use the body for a dedicated ground, don't use a speaker wire. Any 12 volt circuit that is switched on/off with the ignition key will work for the light switch connection.