Galaxy S4 to alpine PDX-5... - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > Galaxy S4 to alpine PDX-5...

Huge Soft top SaleNitro Gear Packages Now Available at Rockridge 4wdRough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!

Reply
Unread 08-22-2013, 12:27 PM   #1
Gnl.Weirdness
Registered User
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 1,308
Galaxy S4 to alpine PDX-5...

So I got rid of the idea to mount an iPad in the dash, instead I just want to run my cell to my amp.

However a few questions. I have 2 tweeters, 2 front speakers, 2 back speakers, and a sub.

How can I get the best quality, and what cables should I be running to the amp and from the amp? Is a single rca run enough from the cell to the amp (rca as in white and red, not just a single wire run). Or should I split the RCA into 3 (6) inputs for each input the amp has?

Also what would be the best way to control adjustments from the cell into the amp. Are there good controllers out there for volume, etc that I can splice in before the runs hit the amp?

Thanks a million ahead of time to anyone with some knowledge on this.

Gnl.Weirdness is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-22-2013, 12:54 PM   #2
Indy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WY
Posts: 3,013
Your phone is only going to put out stereo no matter how many ways you split the wire. If you split it into multiple outputs each will see a corresponding drop in signal, or if you run it all in parralel you'll possibly toast your phone. You're basically going to end up with headphone quality sound, but louder.

Simplest solution IMO would be a $50 deck that's bluetooth capable or a $35 deck that has the stereo input. Let it take care of the f/r separation.
__________________
Odds are im typing on a tablet. It takes too much effort to add some punctuation. Im lazy, get over it

Never underestimate the power of stupid.
Indy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-22-2013, 01:09 PM   #3
JeepNicholson
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Burbank, OH
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gnl.Weirdness View Post
So I got rid of the idea to mount an iPad in the dash, instead I just want to run my cell to my amp.

However a few questions. I have 2 tweeters, 2 front speakers, 2 back speakers, and a sub.

How can I get the best quality, and what cables should I be running to the amp and from the amp? Is a single rca run enough from the cell to the amp (rca as in white and red, not just a single wire run). Or should I split the RCA into 3 (6) inputs for each input the amp has?

Also what would be the best way to control adjustments from the cell into the amp. Are there good controllers out there for volume, etc that I can splice in before the runs hit the amp?

Thanks a million ahead of time to anyone with some knowledge on this.
You can do what this guy did-

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f20/n...tereo-1563674/
JeepNicholson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-22-2013, 09:07 PM   #4
absentiabanish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 394
Check this out. Memphis Car Audio makes an amp with Bluetooth don't know what the price is but I've been thinking of this route also. http://www.memphiscaraudio.com/produ...on-amplifiers/
absentiabanish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-23-2013, 08:59 AM   #5
Indy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WY
Posts: 3,013
That's an interesting idea. If it works well and is affordable I'd go that route.
__________________
Odds are im typing on a tablet. It takes too much effort to add some punctuation. Im lazy, get over it

Never underestimate the power of stupid.
Indy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-23-2013, 10:48 AM   #6
kingcat400
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Flat Rock, Mi
Posts: 532
Run the rca to a PAC lc-1 then RCA's to the amps. That will be your adjustment and you could run another lc-1 after the splitter to the sub amp so you have main volume and a separate sub adjustment.
kingcat400 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.