Flush mount auxiliary input installed - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > Flush mount auxiliary input installed

Building a Bumper?Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~

Unread 08-29-2011, 02:14 PM   #1
TXST8tj
2001 TJ Wrangler 

Flush mount auxiliary input installed

I have been running the Alpine CDA-117 headunit for several months now and I love it. It is everything I was looking for in a headunit. It has awesome Ipod integration via a rear USB input. I use that function with my Ipod for most of my music; however, I wanted to open up to additional options.

(The following end result can be adapted to any headunit with the proper aux adapters)

While this h/u comes with a rear USB input, it does not come with a 3.5mm input jack. It does have the option to add an auxiliary input though. This is the route I wanted to take.
Beyond that, I wanted a dash mounted, flush mount aux input. The Ipod is run into the glove box and I only remove it when I fly or need to update the music, etc. The auxiliary input will almost 100% be used by my Evo 4G cell phone for Pandora and other music, which means it will be unplugged and removed from the vehicle as much as I am....removed. That is where the dash mount comes in.

I found all the parts I needed on Ebay for about $12 total. The first piece of the puzzle was the actual auxiliary adapter for the Alpine h/u. The Alpine brand adapter was about $16. This one is the import version for about a dollar. This plugs in the back of the h/u and ends with female RCAs.
The next piece was the cable that runs between the adapter and the 3.5mm flush mount plug. One end of this cable is male RCAs and the other is a female 3.5mm jack.