Dual Antennae on Tailgate - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > Dual Antennae on Tailgate

Great prices on seating!--Oconee Off-RoadTJ 5.25" Speaker Adapters - NalinMFGTJ, YJ & LJ Drop Down Tail Gate Conversion Kit

Unread 05-21-2013, 10:13 AM   #1
WeezyBlue
2005 TJ Wrangler 

Dual Antennae on Tailgate

When I was researching on where and how to put dual antennas on my Jeep, I found several threads with basic info, but few with good pictures, and a lot of people confused or scared to drill holes without making it look like a hack job. Properly grounding the antenna seems to be a common issue, so I figured I would snap a few pics of my installation. Now, I'm no expert so you may find a few things in the following photos that may not be technically correct. By all means, point them out. I'm just sharing my experiences.

I tend to be long winded in my descriptions, so just glance at the pictures if you'd rather not read my life story...

First off, I just got my Amateur Radio Tech license, so I'm planning to install a 2 meter along side my CB. That said, I am trying to buy things one chunk at a time, as in total it's more expensive to do this than I had anticipated. In my previous TJ I mounted a Midland CB and a Firestik using a Teraflex behind the tail light bracket for under $100 total. Prices have gone up a since then, but with buying higher quality pieces and parts I have about $300 into this setup thus far, and I still need the 2m radio.