Double DIN? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > Double DIN?

Savvy Billet LED Tail LightsWant to be able to SEE? DOT Approved Headlights for under We have FLASHLIGHTS! Great for your Emergency bag!

Reply
Unread 06-08-2005, 03:58 PM   #1
dejablu311
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Concord NC
Posts: 298
Double DIN?

Okay i have a 2000 TJ and i know that i would have no trouble fitting a double DIN head in it. My dad however has an 04 and though the radio is the same size the shape is more curved. Will a regular after market double DIN head fit in an 04 TJ?

The reason I asking is cuz he wants nav and i think this thing is the sheeeeeeiiiiiiiit:

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pn...219118,00.html

I want to put it in but i don't know if it will fit.

__________________
2000 Sahara that is for sale.
dejablu311 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-08-2005, 04:09 PM   #2
got4-Lo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Flemington NJ / Boone NC
Posts: 2,497
luke right??

well im sure that u could make it work, if u wanted to. but i know that i tried to put my stock head unit in a my friends 04. i didnt fit in to well but some work with a drumel we got it to work. if need a hand let me know. i used to install stuff like this at best buy.
__________________
stretched *** tj

[URL]webwheeling.com[/URL]
got4-Lo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-08-2005, 04:36 PM   #3
ColoradoTJ
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: LaSalle, Colorado
Posts: 1,581
I'm not sure that a double DIN will even fir in your jeep, atleast not with out some trimming. If your Dad wants a Nav system he should check on ebay for a Mopar one. It will fit very nice in his 04 dash.
__________________
Clint

Colorado Jeep Club Member #60

My Jeep

"If we weren't all crazy we would go insane" J.B.
ColoradoTJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-08-2005, 06:42 PM   #4
RedSoxFan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 173
I don't think so, the factory unit is 1.5 DIN, not 2.
__________________
[COLOR=Yellow]Solar Yellow[/COLOR] '02 Sport
RE BB, OME shocks, OME stabilizer, Bestop Flares, 32 X 11.5 BFG AT's, Spidertrax wheel spacers, Iggee seat covers, Pioneer DEH-P47DH, Infinity 5002i speakers (4), Kenwood KSC-SW1 powered sub
RedSoxFan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-08-2005, 08:53 PM   #5
dejablu311
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Concord NC
Posts: 298
cool thats all i needed to know. thanks guys.

Got4lo, yeah its luke. whats up bro?
__________________
2000 Sahara that is for sale.
dejablu311 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-08-2005, 09:31 PM   #6
RockRunner85
Registered User
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,334
In the Jeep I would say go with a removable nav unit. That $1,800 nav unit is a target waiting to be stolen unless you got the hardtop on full doors on all the time.
__________________
2004 Black Rubicon w/ 5 spd

RE 3.5 SuperFlex & Front Trackbar / JKS 1.25" BL & MML / 35x12.5 MTRs on 15x8 AR-23s / Currie Anti-Rock / Jeeperman Bumpers / Rokmen Sliders / York OBA / Harbor Freight 8k Winch
RockRunner85 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-08-2005, 11:37 PM   #7
drunksmurf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: indianapolis but originally from a small town in WV
Posts: 129
I can say from exp that even though your stock radio area looks like it will fit a double din, its actually a din and a1/2 size and your gonna have some mod/fab work for fit a double din in there. My Alpine 3da-w882 is a double din 3 disc changer/folddown display tape deck and it took me a solid week to figure out a way to mount it.I had to trim away some of the outside bezel as well as some of the main dash panel to get room to fit. its in there now but man it was more trouble then it was worth. How does that radio mount if its ISO din as in bolts around the middle section of the radio instead of the front 4 corners your in for a fun fit,
drunksmurf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.