CB wont work - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > CB wont work

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitClayton Off Road - Come see us at these events!

Reply
Unread 10-16-2009, 06:37 PM   #1
Boyjeepin
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 66
CB wont work

Ok so I have a cobra 75WXST cb radio, was working fine, old antenna broke so I installed a new 4' Wilson FGT with a mount that I drilled into the rear above the tail light. Hooked up the SWR meter and the CB turned on and had no display and then turned off.

I tested the mount to make sure it was grounded and it was, cable and antenna all test fine. I am so confused, please help!

Everyone says never turn it on without antenna hooked up but Cobra says different, so I tried it and it doesn't turn on now. Not sure if it has a built in breaker that makes it not work without an antenna.

__________________
"Going to the woods is going home..."

1980 CJ-7: NEEDS REPAIRIN'
2000 XJ: I wish I would have never sold you.
Boyjeepin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-16-2009, 07:01 PM   #2
cico7
Registered User
2007 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Columbus OH IO
Posts: 160
Have you checked your inline fuses?
dont broadcast without the antenna, but turning it on wont kill it.

if you reversed the connection, you may have blown protective circutry.
check all fuses first.
__________________
I dont want to be your friend, request denied


8llllll8
cico7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-18-2009, 11:17 PM   #3
SnowdogMarc
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,269
Real stupid question here....is the selector set to WX? If it is it blanks out the entire display on mine and has flipped me out a couple of times too.
__________________
l We're here for a good time. Not a long time. So have a good time the sun can't shine every day.
l_______
/l ,[_____],
l---L -[]lllllll[]-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)____________VE6-SDG
SnowdogMarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-19-2009, 09:30 AM   #4
Boyjeepin
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 66
haha no. Actually I was messing with it yesterday and showing my friend how it didn't work and wouldn't you know it turned right on! Now I've just gotta get the SWR lower than 2.
__________________
"Going to the woods is going home..."

1980 CJ-7: NEEDS REPAIRIN'
2000 XJ: I wish I would have never sold you.
Boyjeepin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-19-2009, 10:33 AM   #5
Slithering_Joe
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nobama, Morris County, NJ
Posts: 2,447
Are you are using an inline fuse like the one pictured here along side of the outlet?



These can open circuit very easily when there is tension pulling on the wire.


Use the blade type shown below.



Just a thought.
__________________
4.0L TJ
Slithering_Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.