CB transmits but doesn't receive - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > CB transmits but doesn't receive

Dana 30/ Dana 44 Chromoly shaft Kits- ECGSFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFlowmaster's Force II Axle-back exhaust system for the 201

Unread 01-26-2011, 12:47 PM   #1
GardenGnome5
1996 XJ Cherokee 

CB transmits but doesn't receive

So I was all set for my last wheeling trip. Met with the people I was going with and we agreed on channel 5 for communications. switched to the channel and proceeded to test... and nothing. I called up another rig on my phone and they said that they could hear me clear as day. I was trying to tune my CB all day but since I'm a complete newbie with CBs I had no idea what I was doing.
Anyone have any ideas of why I couldn't receive anything?

Thanks, Gnome.

Coal Region 4x4
GardenGnome5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-26-2011, 12:51 PM   #2
BeerMe
1975 CJ5 

It's better to give than to recieve.

What CB band and model do you have?
BeerMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-26-2011, 02:05 PM   #3
99WJNM
1999 WJ 

was your squelch all the way up or was your volume all the way down
99WJNM is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-26-2011, 10:51 PM   #4
SnowdogMarc
1988 YJ Wrangler 

Do you get any noise from the speaker at all...even when turned on initially? Could have a blown speaker but above post is highly likely whats wrong.
l---L -[]lllllll[]-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)____________VE6-SDG
SnowdogMarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-27-2011, 10:26 AM   #5
GardenGnome5
1996 XJ Cherokee 

I have a Cobra 29 LTD.

Volume was up, squelch was tried in various positions. I didn't even get static when adjusting the squelch.