CB Radio: High SWR - Page 2 - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 32 Old 05-02-2012, 10:55 PM Thread Starter
-sean-
Registered User
 
-sean-'s Avatar
1944 CJ2 
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
It's not the antenna itself causing this SWR problem.
I have been thinking this way myself but have run into dead end after dead end. In the past testing the continuity of the cable, mounts or connections have usually exposed the issue but not this time... the meter tells me things are fine.

-sean- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 32 Old 05-03-2012, 04:36 AM
Ross
Registered User
2001 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,268
Have ever changed were you are ground your antenna?

01 TJ, 34 Super Swaper 34x10.5 bias, Winch, locked, belly up, some armor, 4.0, 5spd
Ross is online now  
post #18 of 32 Old 05-03-2012, 09:38 AM
Jerry Bransford
Administrator
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Escondido, California
Posts: 64,976
Unscrew the antenna cable connector from the cb. Using an ohm meter with the scale set to Rx1, take a measurement between a good solid ground and where the antenna is screwed into the mount. How many ohms does it measure?

Getting Savvy...

When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is offline  
post #19 of 32 Old 05-03-2012, 10:06 AM Thread Starter
-sean-
Registered User
 
-sean-'s Avatar
1944 CJ2 
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Using an ohm meter with the scale set to Rx1...
This is the multi-meter that I use, what setting would you want me to use? (2000K, 200K, 20K, 2000 or 200)

*EDIT: Used the 200 setting, I am not familiar with the settings on an analog meter.
I checked for readings (continuity) from the antenna stud to the mount, frame, engine block and the firewall and get no measurement (1-) of continuity anywhere. When I check from the mount to ground (same locations) I get the same reading at all points, 0.00.

-sean- is offline  
post #20 of 32 Old 05-03-2012, 11:58 AM
Jerry Bransford
Administrator
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Escondido, California
Posts: 64,976
Set it on 200 and measure again. No connection between those two points is correct and what you want.

Getting Savvy...

When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is offline  
post #21 of 32 Old 05-03-2012, 02:42 PM Thread Starter
-sean-
Registered User
 
-sean-'s Avatar
1944 CJ2 
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,026
Re-Tested: No connection what so ever. The meter seems to like all of the connections.

I'm going to try driving over to the park and checking there. I'm curious to see if I get away from the houses and wifi if it would have any effect.

EDIT: Tested again in a wide open space using the 3' FireStik II since it has given the best readings. This is what I ended up with.

Best on CH.20: 2.3 with tip out 50% (CH.1 was 3.2 and CH.40 was 3.2)
Best on CH.01: 2.3 with tip out 75% (CH.20 was 3.1 and CH.40 was 4+)
Best on CH.40: 2.3 with tip out 30% (CH.1 was 3.9 and CH.20 was 2.8)
-sean- is offline  
post #22 of 32 Old 05-03-2012, 07:57 PM
JPNinPA
Registered User
2005 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dayton
Posts: 2,330
Could you take a close in focus image that shows the mount, antenna and wire connector as it sits with the Firestick.


PS the Wilson you do not attach the pigtail wire at the bottom and the other bottom load may not give good SWR based if it sits close to the tum or ground plane location.

"Never look down on anyone unless your helping them up"- Jesse Jackson
JPNinPA is offline  
post #23 of 32 Old 05-03-2012, 08:58 PM Thread Starter
-sean-
Registered User
 
-sean-'s Avatar
1944 CJ2 
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by JPNinPA View Post
Could you take a close in focus image that shows the mount, antenna and wire connector as it sits with the Firestick.
These show the set-up minus the 3' Firestik.





And with the antenna attatched.
-sean- is offline  
post #24 of 32 Old 05-04-2012, 06:53 PM
Jerry Bransford
Administrator
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Escondido, California
Posts: 64,976
Did you grind the paint away where the bracket is bolted to the tub? Unless you did, I doubt the bolts are giving you an adequate RF ground which an antenna needs to get a low SWR. Note that an RF ground is way more demanding than a simple DC ground that would show up as a good connection using an ohmmeter. You can have a good DC ground with good continuity to ground but not be an adequate RF ground for the antenna.

Half of the antenna is the Jeep itself so if the mounting bracket isn't connected to a good RF ground, the antenna will not work optimally and a high SWR may be the result.

Getting Savvy...

When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is offline  
post #25 of 32 Old 05-04-2012, 08:41 PM
JPNinPA
Registered User
2005 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dayton
Posts: 2,330
Yes try improving your ground.

"Never look down on anyone unless your helping them up"- Jesse Jackson
JPNinPA is offline  
post #26 of 32 Old 05-04-2012, 09:53 PM Thread Starter
-sean-
Registered User
 
-sean-'s Avatar
1944 CJ2 
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,026
The paint was removed from under the bracket and on the inside of the fender as well and a ground strap was ran.

Thanks for all of the help guys I really appreciate it. After all of the input I realized this was not just me doing something incorrect as far as the install was concerned so I headed out to the CB Shop. Our local CB guru Chuck gave the install the once over, asked a few questions, then stated "it's your meter".



Chuck hooked his meter up... 1.1-1.3

I bought a new meter from Chuck.
-sean- is offline  
post #27 of 32 Old 05-04-2012, 10:06 PM
JPNinPA
Registered User
2005 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dayton
Posts: 2,330
Was the meter with the issue the one in the radio or an external one?

Glad to hear you got it fixed.

"Never look down on anyone unless your helping them up"- Jesse Jackson
JPNinPA is offline  
post #28 of 32 Old 05-04-2012, 10:17 PM
GUNNY
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Central Coast of CALI
Posts: 10
I had a long response typed but, saw you got it handled...

That is my reason for editing
GUNNY is offline  
post #29 of 32 Old 05-05-2012, 02:52 AM
Necromancer_tat
Where'd all my money go?
 
Necromancer_tat's Avatar
2015 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 5,256
I thought you had a magnet mount antenna that was getting good readings with the meter you had?
Necromancer_tat is offline  
post #30 of 32 Old 05-05-2012, 08:33 AM Thread Starter
-sean-
Registered User
 
-sean-'s Avatar
1944 CJ2 
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by Necromancer_tat View Post
I thought you had a magnet mount antenna that was getting good readings with the meter you had?
Exactly, then I hooked it up again and started getting weird readings with it too, I thought it was the radio though and not the meter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPNinPA View Post
Was the meter with the issue the one in the radio or an external one?
It was an external, an old Radio Shack meter.


This thread should help others with similar issues in the future, seems like SWR issues are a common occurrence with Jeeps. You guys pretty much covered every possible problem that could have been causing the issue.
-sean- is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Installing radio, now no interior lights/no radio working? What fuse? Ford4Now TJ Wrangler Technical Forum 7 03-31-2012 07:49 PM
Lights dim and radio cuts out at high rpm Triscuits TJ Wrangler Technical Forum 11 02-21-2011 11:33 PM
Jet stage 2 for high speed high revs desert yj - is it worth it? dubaispy YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 17 04-11-2010 10:38 PM
High Idle, High Pitched Whine, Black Soot PolakX TJ Wrangler Technical Forum 6 02-15-2010 07:34 AM
Is Radio wiring present if jeep originally came without a radio gary1 YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 14 02-07-2006 09:10 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome