Backup lights -wiring SPDT switch - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 03-17-2007, 01:05 PM Thread Starter
IAJack
Registered User
 
IAJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: In a van down by the DesMoines river
Posts: 472
Backup lights -wiring SPDT switch

I need some help wiring in a SPDT (single pole double throw switch). First off I have seen Stu's site and the diagram there. I am still a little slow and need some help.

I want to wire my aux. backup lights so that in on position 1 they will come on automatically when in reverse. In the middle position they wont come on and in position 2 they would be on all the time.

The problem I don't understand about Stu's site is the switch itself? I have a switch with three connectors on it. The diagram on the switch package says:

Access.(1) Batt. Access(2)
--- --- ----


This would be through a relay of course.

So if I understand Su's writeup - the center terminal of the switch is actually ground and not power?

Any and all help appreciated.


http://www.hawkeyefirearmsinstruction.com/
NRA-Certified Pistol Instructor

Last edited by IAJack; 03-17-2007 at 01:17 PM.
IAJack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 03-17-2007, 01:57 PM
kencaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Costa Mesa, OC, CA, USA
Posts: 897
I would do it like this:

Relay: (SPST or SPDT)

Pin 30 to Battery (fused for lights)
Pin 87 to Lights (+)
Pin 86 to Ground
Pin 85 to Center (supply), on SPDT switch

Switch: (SPDT Center OFF)

Center (supply) to 85 on relay.
Load-1 to backup switch
Load-2 to 12v Constant (un-switched) supply

In center position AUX lights will not go on.

In position one AUX lights will go on with backup lights

In position two AUX lights will be on all the time reguardless of backup lights or ignition on.

KC

note: This will not effect the factory backup lights.

My Cherokee

"I say we dust-off and nuke the site from orbit... It's the only way to be sure!"
kencaz is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 03-17-2007, 04:48 PM
RLD831
Registered User
 
RLD831's Avatar
2006 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 1,560
I used two relays.

Basically it is designed so that when I shift into reverse, it cuts off the switch's ability to power the lights. This way if I leave the switch on and throw it into reverse, I don't blow anything up.
EDIT: Not sure why the picture is so small, if you need it blown up let me know, I'll email it.
RLD831 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 03-17-2007, 05:11 PM
kencaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Costa Mesa, OC, CA, USA
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLD831
Basically it is designed so that when I shift into reverse, it cuts off the switch's ability to power the lights. This way if I leave the switch on and throw it into reverse, I don't blow anything up.
I don't see why that would blow anything up unless you were getting power from another 12V source and not the same battery.

If your lights were on and you ran a jumper between the positive on the battery terminal to the lights would it blow up? No...

KC

My Cherokee

"I say we dust-off and nuke the site from orbit... It's the only way to be sure!"
kencaz is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-17-2007, 06:44 PM Thread Starter
IAJack
Registered User
 
IAJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: In a van down by the DesMoines river
Posts: 472
thanks ken, I just needed a confirmation on the way you posted it.

This is looking like tomorrows project. Ever since getting tinted windows and LiteDOTS I cannot see anywhere backing up!

http://www.hawkeyefirearmsinstruction.com/
NRA-Certified Pistol Instructor
IAJack is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-18-2007, 04:36 PM
Scrambler82
Registered User
 
Scrambler82's Avatar
1982 CJ8 
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 3,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLD831
I used two relays.

Basically it is designed so that when I shift into reverse, it cuts off the switch's ability to power the lights. This way if I leave the switch on and throw it into reverse, I don't blow anything up.
EDIT: Not sure why the picture is so small, if you need it blown up let me know, I'll email it.


Why not bypass Relay one when powering from relay two, it makes extra connections you don't need.

IMHO, it should work.

Scrambler82

Do it right the first time !

Last edited by Scrambler82; 03-18-2007 at 04:48 PM.
Scrambler82 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Wiring help needed - KC Backup Lights mdlott Stereos, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical. 14 07-18-2007 03:09 PM
wiring backup lights Negative6 Stereos, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical. 2 01-15-2007 09:49 AM
Backup lights switch? bruker Stereos, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical. 2 11-17-2006 11:36 PM
Prob wiring backup lights please help jeepboy21 Stereos, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical. 11 11-02-2006 04:58 PM
SPDT switch? Itchy Stereos, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical. 15 10-02-2006 11:01 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome