antenna weak - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 04-28-2009, 11:24 PM Thread Starter
lilbluetj
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Iowa City
Posts: 195
antenna weak

the factory antenna on my wrangler isnt picking up an stations on scan and when i do a manual search its super noisy on the one station i get how do i get my radio to pick up more stations because its sad right now. THanks


LiLBlueTJ
</3 miss that TJ 'Jenny'
lilbluetj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 04-29-2009, 06:43 AM
SirGCal
Moderator
 
SirGCal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,937
plug in the antenna. One plug at the back of the radio, and another one behind the glovebox that can come lose.

Sir G. Cal - 2k Sahara TJ

Living and loving on borrowed time. Life with Multiple Sclerosis. My MS/Life blog, Audio and Electronic write-ups, project how-tos, pictures, stories, and more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGCal
If you can't take a nano-second to press shift/period/etc. and make proper sentences and paragraphs, I don't know if I can take a few minutes to respond to your topics... It doesn't have to be perfect by any means, but a little effort goes a long way.
SirGCal is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 04-30-2009, 07:49 AM
LimitedHemi
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Towson, MD
Posts: 54
2nd SirGCal- theres an extension that runs from the antenna to the back of the glove box, and then from there to the radio, they can easily come unplugged at one of the those points when removing the radio.
LimitedHemi is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 04-30-2009, 09:16 AM Thread Starter
lilbluetj
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Iowa City
Posts: 195
ok ill look i had the radio installed at best buy so i was hopeing they would do it right thanks

LiLBlueTJ
</3 miss that TJ 'Jenny'
lilbluetj is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 04-30-2009, 10:04 AM
Knocky
Registered User
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilbluetj View Post
ok ill look i had the radio installed at best buy so i was hopeing they would do it right thanks

Ask Chrysler why they installed the antenna line in pieces then.
Knocky is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 05-01-2009, 10:15 AM Thread Starter
lilbluetj
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Iowa City
Posts: 195
lol ok ill get on that

LiLBlueTJ
</3 miss that TJ 'Jenny'
lilbluetj is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 05-04-2009, 10:15 AM Thread Starter
lilbluetj
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Iowa City
Posts: 195
so i checked in the glove box and the needle type extension i think you guys are talking about is pluged in. So what do i do know also my speakers i bought dont fit the size of the hole does anyone have the brace or braket so you can put 4x6's in the dash?

LiLBlueTJ
</3 miss that TJ 'Jenny'
lilbluetj is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 05-04-2009, 10:28 AM
SirGCal
Moderator
 
SirGCal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,937
You have to have a bracket to install them. That's why I always recommend going to 5.25" speakers anyhow since you have to get the bracket. You get a lot better sound out of the larger round driver than the tiny oval...

Sir G. Cal - 2k Sahara TJ

Living and loving on borrowed time. Life with Multiple Sclerosis. My MS/Life blog, Audio and Electronic write-ups, project how-tos, pictures, stories, and more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGCal
If you can't take a nano-second to press shift/period/etc. and make proper sentences and paragraphs, I don't know if I can take a few minutes to respond to your topics... It doesn't have to be perfect by any means, but a little effort goes a long way.
SirGCal is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 05-04-2009, 10:33 PM Thread Starter
lilbluetj
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Iowa City
Posts: 195
ok these are arnt ovals i have 4x6 infinity component style cones on the same thing i just need the bracket.

LiLBlueTJ
</3 miss that TJ 'Jenny'

Last edited by lilbluetj; 05-04-2009 at 10:43 PM.
lilbluetj is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 05-05-2009, 08:06 AM
SirGCal
Moderator
 
SirGCal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilbluetj View Post
ok these are arnt ovals i have 4x6 infinity component style cones on the same thing i just need the bracket.
Same result. Tiny no mids 4" speaker. Same result though. Need brackets either way.

Sir G. Cal - 2k Sahara TJ

Living and loving on borrowed time. Life with Multiple Sclerosis. My MS/Life blog, Audio and Electronic write-ups, project how-tos, pictures, stories, and more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGCal
If you can't take a nano-second to press shift/period/etc. and make proper sentences and paragraphs, I don't know if I can take a few minutes to respond to your topics... It doesn't have to be perfect by any means, but a little effort goes a long way.
SirGCal is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 05-05-2009, 09:40 AM Thread Starter
lilbluetj
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Iowa City
Posts: 195
really so the round 5.25 just fit in the dash spot with no mod ill look into this

LiLBlueTJ
</3 miss that TJ 'Jenny'
lilbluetj is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 05-05-2009, 09:43 AM
SirGCal
Moderator
 
SirGCal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,937
on some model TJs, you have to use tin snips or something to remove a useless metal brace in the dash for clearence (pictures 2 & 3: http://www.sirgcal.com/2ktj/pics.html?section=dash), in later TJs, the brace is not there. Adapters can be bought or made, there are templates everywhere.

Sir G. Cal - 2k Sahara TJ

Living and loving on borrowed time. Life with Multiple Sclerosis. My MS/Life blog, Audio and Electronic write-ups, project how-tos, pictures, stories, and more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGCal
If you can't take a nano-second to press shift/period/etc. and make proper sentences and paragraphs, I don't know if I can take a few minutes to respond to your topics... It doesn't have to be perfect by any means, but a little effort goes a long way.
SirGCal is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 05-05-2009, 10:08 AM Thread Starter
lilbluetj
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Iowa City
Posts: 195
could you make me pair of brackets like that? so the only mod to the jeep is removing the bar.

LiLBlueTJ
</3 miss that TJ 'Jenny'
lilbluetj is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 05-05-2009, 10:18 AM
SirGCal
Moderator
 
SirGCal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,937
http://www.flickr.com/photos/photohy...91683/sizes/o/

Or you can buy some. There are some good plastic ones out there and 33 eng makes a set for the dash. I'm sure someone will post links somewhere or do a search. They are posted up here about once a week.

Sir G. Cal - 2k Sahara TJ

Living and loving on borrowed time. Life with Multiple Sclerosis. My MS/Life blog, Audio and Electronic write-ups, project how-tos, pictures, stories, and more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGCal
If you can't take a nano-second to press shift/period/etc. and make proper sentences and paragraphs, I don't know if I can take a few minutes to respond to your topics... It doesn't have to be perfect by any means, but a little effort goes a long way.
SirGCal is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 05-05-2009, 10:26 AM Thread Starter
lilbluetj
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Iowa City
Posts: 195
ok sweet thanks i will get around to getting those in ill get back to you guys. also the ball on top of my antena is gone could that lead to a loss in singnal strength

LiLBlueTJ
</3 miss that TJ 'Jenny'
lilbluetj is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
my cb antenna topper fell off. does this matter? will it affect my antenna PJNovinskee27 Stereos, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical. 3 11-03-2008 03:59 PM
can I use a police scanner antenna 4 ft. from a cb antenna? BigOrangeXJ Stereos, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical. 11 05-08-2007 09:01 AM
using firestik antenna as radio antenna? got_4_lo Stereos, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical. 9 01-11-2006 07:39 PM
Run CB radio antenna through old cell phone antenna wire? FASTnSPEEDY Stereos, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical. 8 09-26-2005 01:12 PM
Steel Spring for CB Antenna and Antenna cable question Bob J Stereos, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical. 23 01-16-2003 07:02 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome