adding a sub in the factory sub spot - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 08-10-2004, 09:14 AM Thread Starter
vballman
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 143
adding a sub in the factory sub spot

hey guys!

I just got a 03 TJ sport. I am very excited. Wanted a jeep for a while. anyways, it came with the 4 speaker set up. I am working on replacing the speakers. But i want to add a sub in the factory slot. i believe it is an 8" sub. where is a good spot to wire this up and what is the best way to run the wires.

thanks!

vballman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 08-10-2004, 09:19 AM
SirGCal
Moderator
 
SirGCal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,940
The factory sub is a 6" sub in the center console. You can run the wires down the center from the dash under the console or down the drivers side and under the driver's seat.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My MS/Life blog, Audio and Electronic write-ups, project how-tos, pictures, stories, and more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGCal
If you can't take a nano-second to press shift/period/etc. and make proper sentences and paragraphs, I don't know if I can take a few minutes to respond to your topics... It doesn't have to be perfect by any means, but a little effort goes a long way.
SirGCal is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 08-10-2004, 09:22 AM Thread Starter
vballman
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 143
where is a good spot to put an amp? any idea who makes a 6" sub?
vballman is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 08-10-2004, 01:19 PM
SirGCal
Moderator
 
SirGCal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,940
JL makes probably the best 6" sub that I can think of off the top of my head... Kicker makes one too but it's more of a mid-bass driver than a sub. Still good though. Rockford used to make one.

put the amp under a seat or under the dash if you have the room. The JL sub only needs 75W so that sub would be quite small and you could probably shoe-horn it in anywhere. Even if you moved up to a good 8" sub, they aren't going to eat more than 100W (for any of them that would run in that small of a box anyhow...) The hard part is going to be finding an amp that will run that low into a mono load. Your best bet is going to be to look for a small 2-channel bridgable amp. (something that is 20Wx2@4 ohms would be close (which would be about 80Wx1@4 ohms))


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My MS/Life blog, Audio and Electronic write-ups, project how-tos, pictures, stories, and more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGCal
If you can't take a nano-second to press shift/period/etc. and make proper sentences and paragraphs, I don't know if I can take a few minutes to respond to your topics... It doesn't have to be perfect by any means, but a little effort goes a long way.
SirGCal is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 08-10-2004, 01:24 PM
SirGCal
Moderator
 
SirGCal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,940
Something that might be easier and sound a little better is an RF P18S4 (8" stage 1 punch) which can handle 150W and only needs up to .35 ft^3 sealed and an Alpine MRP-T220 (140Wx1@4 ohms) amp.

Small amp and small sub requirements with good matching power. The amp also has speaker-level inputs incase you are going to use the factory head unit. (you don't need a line-output converter to run RCA's)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My MS/Life blog, Audio and Electronic write-ups, project how-tos, pictures, stories, and more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGCal
If you can't take a nano-second to press shift/period/etc. and make proper sentences and paragraphs, I don't know if I can take a few minutes to respond to your topics... It doesn't have to be perfect by any means, but a little effort goes a long way.
SirGCal is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 08-10-2004, 02:00 PM Thread Starter
vballman
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 143
For now I am giong to use the stock head unit. I want to replace all the speakers first and add the sub. i have a small pioneer amp that might work as well. does changing it to an 8" make a lot of difference in how it is mounted?
vballman is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 08-10-2004, 02:27 PM
SirGCal
Moderator
 
SirGCal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by vballman
For now I am giong to use the stock head unit. I want to replace all the speakers first and add the sub. i have a small pioneer amp that might work as well. does changing it to an 8" make a lot of difference in how it is mounted?
The process is the same (build an enclosure for it), the only difference is that the enclosure will be slightly larger (.35 ft^3 instead of .2 ft^3 in the case of the RF 8" and JL 6). You will still need to build the box. I'd use 5/8" MDF for most of it and maybe fiberglass for the area around the e-break.

Here's a link to someone who already made the console box for an 8" and he has most of the measurements up there.

http://community.webshots.com/album/63423573sSraTy


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My MS/Life blog, Audio and Electronic write-ups, project how-tos, pictures, stories, and more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGCal
If you can't take a nano-second to press shift/period/etc. and make proper sentences and paragraphs, I don't know if I can take a few minutes to respond to your topics... It doesn't have to be perfect by any means, but a little effort goes a long way.
SirGCal is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 08-10-2004, 02:56 PM Thread Starter
vballman
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 143
would it be easier to find a factory set up and just replace the sub?
vballman is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 08-10-2004, 03:24 PM
SirGCal
Moderator
 
SirGCal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by vballman
would it be easier to find a factory set up and just replace the sub?
It would be easier, but wouldn't sound near as good. The factory is also only 6" so your stuck there. It's also a DVC and I don't know what the stats are on the factory amp so that part might even be harder... The factory box is plastic though and not worth upgrading. Since your starting from scratch, I'd try to build it up. If you just want to go with a factory type setup, then just get an all-factory system and be done with it. (factory amp, sub and box)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My MS/Life blog, Audio and Electronic write-ups, project how-tos, pictures, stories, and more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGCal
If you can't take a nano-second to press shift/period/etc. and make proper sentences and paragraphs, I don't know if I can take a few minutes to respond to your topics... It doesn't have to be perfect by any means, but a little effort goes a long way.
SirGCal is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 08-10-2004, 09:39 PM
BigWaylon
tubework is cool...
 
BigWaylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 7,381
just for a couple ideas:

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f20/upgraded-factory-system-pics-88858/

I went with the Rockford Fosgate 6.5" sub in the factory enclosure and bridged a small 2-channel amp to power it...

Greg

2001 TJ 60th Anniversary Edition (details in Profile)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BigWaylon is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 09-13-2004, 02:56 PM Thread Starter
vballman
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 143
well i got a factory sub for it. what i am doing now is replacing it with a JL audio sub. I have to modify the box some to get it to fit but i am almost done with that.
vballman is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 09-21-2004, 11:32 AM Thread Starter
vballman
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 143
any suggestions on where i can hide an amp under the dash?
vballman is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 09-21-2004, 07:19 PM
SirGCal
Moderator
 
SirGCal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by vballman
any suggestions on where i can hide an amp under the dash?
If you don't have tilt-wheel, some people have had luck with smaller amps and custom mounting bracketry on the driver's side next to the steering column.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My MS/Life blog, Audio and Electronic write-ups, project how-tos, pictures, stories, and more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGCal
If you can't take a nano-second to press shift/period/etc. and make proper sentences and paragraphs, I don't know if I can take a few minutes to respond to your topics... It doesn't have to be perfect by any means, but a little effort goes a long way.
SirGCal is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 09-22-2004, 07:17 AM Thread Starter
vballman
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 143
ah that stinks, i do have a tilt wheel. i still may have to check it out. any other suggestions?
vballman is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 09-22-2004, 08:21 AM
SirGCal
Moderator
 
SirGCal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by vballman
ah that stinks, i do have a tilt wheel. i still may have to check it out. any other suggestions?
Get the smallest physical sized amps you can... The smaller, the better.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My MS/Life blog, Audio and Electronic write-ups, project how-tos, pictures, stories, and more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGCal
If you can't take a nano-second to press shift/period/etc. and make proper sentences and paragraphs, I don't know if I can take a few minutes to respond to your topics... It doesn't have to be perfect by any means, but a little effort goes a long way.
SirGCal is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Adding an amp to a factory HU TheMike Audio, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical 5 07-07-2009 03:02 PM
Adding relays to factory box? HomeSpun Audio, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical 2 12-17-2007 09:32 AM
Adding factory fog lights... Steelman Audio, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical 2 06-02-2006 09:21 AM
Adding a Factory Subwoofer? jcd Audio, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical 6 05-22-2006 11:45 PM
Adding amp to factory system COwheeler Audio, CB & Ham Radios, GPS, & Electrical 6 04-13-2005 10:58 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome