2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Radio Upgrade Questions - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Radio Upgrade Questions

Rockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRuffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!

Unread 01-03-2013, 07:45 AM   #1
TheHammer610
2013 FSJ Cherokee 

2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Radio Upgrade Questions

I am new to the world of Jeeps and recently purchased a JGC 2013 with the base radio without Uconnect. I would like to upgrade so that I can get a rear camera.

I figure I have two options: Purchase a used Jeep radio off of eBay (although I do not know what to look for or what is comparable) or go aftermarket.

Going aftermarket has the advantage in that I can get HDRadio.

How can I find out if I have the separate amplifier? Or are the speakers directly powered by the head unit?

Crutchfield recommends the following:
Pioneer AVH-P3400BH
Wiring interface PAC PR4-CH11
Antenna adapter 12040EUID
Double DIN Kit 120956513B
Rear camera Pioneer ND-BC6

My concerns are that the wiring interface and Crutchfield assume that I have the separate amp and that I will lose fader control. That is a big negative. If my base radio does not have separate amp, then I should keep the fader, but I am not sure that the wiring interface will work.

While I have installed aftermarket before, never one this complex nor have had to run a wire for a camera. Anyone have experience with running a camera to the head unit? How about installing Bluetooth mic for phone? Where is the mic installed in factory models?

TheHammer610 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-16-2013, 11:14 PM   #2
TheHammer610