Under-carriage spare tire security - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > Grand Cherokee General Discussion > Under-carriage spare tire security

~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~Advance Adapters SYE KitsARTEC JK UNDER ARMOR - 4 door Bellypan Kits

Unread 10-14-2011, 01:01 PM   #1
wdhppz

Under-carriage spare tire security

I'm new to this, but I need some answers - hope you can help. Direct me otherwise if I'm not in the right place. I am on my fourth spare tire my Jeep Grand Cherokee. First, I am told that I have a warning system if the air in the spare gets low. True? If so, why didn't it tell me when the spare was missing?

Second, I know I live in a sophisticated crime city - Chicago - but are there any realistic solutions besides abandoning the under-carriage system and living with a spare in my storage area? I have ceased replacing the spare with an alloy wheel, but last week they stole the steel rim and tire - and the rear tires were even backed up to the concrete curb in the parking lot!

We have tried the cable/lock idea without any luck. The dealer says to get a Harley-Davidson rubber-covered chain with a lock, but I was told that there are sawsalls out there that are now cordless making that futile, too.

Help!

wdhppz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-14-2011, 01:47 PM   #2
04WJny
1987 YJ Wrangler