SteeleJay's 02 WJ Build - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > Grand Cherokee General Discussion > SteeleJay's 02 WJ Build

FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectBead Lock Wheels! Raceline, Trail Ready, & Trail-GearIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 03-10-2015, 06:26 PM   #1
SteeleJay
Vulcan Ambassador

2002 WJ 

SteeleJay's 02 WJ Build

Finally getting to start my WJ build thread - very excited!
I'm brand new to the Jeep/4x4/off-roading scene, but am looking forward to the learning process - both on the mechanical/technical side, and the driving side.

A few weeks ago my wife and I picked up a one-owner 02 WJ 4.7L w/184K on the odo. It's pretty clean with the exception of rot in the rockers - - which seems to be an undocumented standard option for Jeeps. (someone should tell Jeep that rocker-rot is not an option most of us would generally choose).

The plan is to build - wait for it - yes, an expedition rig! (How original of us) This will be our back-country camping rig, Jeep Jamboree rig and weekend wheeler rig. To that end, I ordered the Rough Country 4" baseline long arm kit (the baseline kit comes sans springs/shocks/track-bar). To actually get the thing in the air, I ordered the 4.5" springs and shocks (as well as a drop pitman arm and steering stabilizer) from Rustysoffroad.com, and a JKS track-bar w/super hard bushings from KOR.

For wheels/tires I'm starting out with GT Radial Adventuro Mud 265/7516 on Cragar Soft-8 16x8 (4.25 BS). The tires are a pretty aggressive tread, but they were sooooper cheap, and while I wouldn't necessarily call this a budget build, I'm not not the Geico made-of-money motorcycle guy either.