Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Nelson1248-build thread

24K views 242 replies 45 participants last post by  redman333 
#1 · (Edited)
hey guys and gals, so my name is Nelson but all my friends like to call me Nelly!
Im 18 and learning all my stuff as I go...
so i have a 2002 Grand cherokee Limited 4.7 H.O.

I really admire all my stuff and if i do something i want it done right, so i do it myself...

so i started out last year in August of 2008, its my first jeep...

so about 6 months ago a jeep bug hit me and started getting me into dumping money into my rig...
so first off yes im 18 as i stated above so people told me I couldnt clear anything bigger than stock tires so yes i was a poor high school student with a part time job so i had no money for a lift but wanted bigger tires...
so i went to the tire shop one day after getting paid and decided to have the dude at the shop try some tires on my rig so i saw some cheap and barely used BFGs all terrains that really caught my eye(265/70/17[32s]) so i told the guy to try them on i was at stock hight he insisted they wouldnt fit so he bet me 20 bucks i took up the deal and they fit with minor rubbing so i got all 5 tires mounted for free!!

soon after that i wanted a spare tire carrier since my spare no longer fit in the stock compartment where it was before...
started pricing them and they were way out of my budget so i decided to build one...

after this main part was done i decided to put some way to mount a high lift on there but at the time it was looks over function but i did it any ways!
here is the end result of the tire carrier!

then came the roof rack i found a smitty built roof rack on craigslist for $100 bucks NIB so i called the guy up and he seamed very friendly and it was new so he sent it over and it was just as described!

bad thing about it was it had no light tabs so i welded them on and got my KC daylighters up.
this is before light tabs...

after light tabs