Frenchy's Build - Page 13 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > Grand Cherokee General Discussion > Frenchy's Build

*VOTE NOW Help Metalcloak Giveaway an XJ Suspension*Component speaker deal for your dash - NalinMFGOffset Tie Rod Kit From RuffStuff!

Unread 01-23-2011, 11:25 PM   #181
1jack5
1999 TJ Wrangler 

I just shivered seeing all that snow...

1jack5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-23-2011, 01:01 PM   #182
fireman33
2003 WJ 

Little update today...i had my inspection done and the mecanics told me i needed 4 new ball joint and the 2 tie rod ends replaced...so instead of paying them 6h labor i did it myself...its my first time replacing them on a solid axle and i gotta say its quite the process compared to an independant suspension. I took some picture so i could do some kind of wright up on this.

wheel removed

Put a screw driver through the caliper to lock the disc from turning and remove the big axle nut.

Remove caliper

Remove rotor.

Remove the 3 bolts that hold the spindle.

Spindle out.

Remove driveshaft.

Disconnect the ABS sensor.

Remove the 2 bolts that old both ball joint.

Take the BFH and hit on it downwards and it will seperate from the ball joint.

Ball joint press is now needed...and STRONGLY recommend one. I actuallu needed the torch for one of them because it was seized solid.

2 ball joint removed

Pressing the bottom one in first.

Then the top one et voila all done one side. Reverse step for the install.

2003 WJ 4.0, 4'' IRO Critical Path, 31x10.5x15 goodyear wrangler territory on soft 8's, Tom Wood front drive shaft, Rough country SS, 4.56 G2 gears, D30 front, D35 rear/detroit trutrac, IRO adj. trackbar, Doetch tech 8000 shocks, nv242 TC, midland cb, 3' firefly antenna, Mopar TC Skid