drwolcot's 2WD-->4WD swap build thread and pictures - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > Grand Cherokee General Discussion > drwolcot's 2WD-->4WD swap build thread and pictures

Labor Day Sale!FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 03-21-2010, 03:16 PM   #1
drwolcot

2002 WJ 

drwolcot's 2WD-->4WD swap build thread and pictures

I have a 2001 Limited Grand Cherokee that I got when I graduated high school back in 04. It started out 2WD and has since been converted ti 4WD... Can't have a 2WD Jeep

Jeep Specs

4.7L V8
545RFE Tranny
2WD (original)
242HD Transfer Case
D44a rear axle
D30 Front axle w/ vari-lok

Got the Jeep when I graduated and when I saw it on the lot it had 30,000 miles. At the time I was just looking for anything with a V8 and this fit the bill perfect and it just looked dang good. 4WD was the only option it didn't have.

Here it is as a stocker: that didn't last long

shortly later I added the 2 inch simple polyurethane coil spacers.

Just the 2inch spacers give it a 10x better appearance!!

Going to go ahead and skip to the good part!

The 2WD-->4WD conversion swap!

I ordered most of my parts online through either car-parts.com or through members here on the forum. I didn't have any good junkyards in my area so had to go online for parts.

Parts required for swap:

242HD Transfer Case (Can be taken from any V8 Jeep from 2000-2004)
Transmission Transfer Case adapter (had to buy new from a dealer; couldn't find anyone that would sell it separate from a tranny with it installed already, this is what separates a 2WD tranny and a 4WD tranny)
Rear driveshaft from V8 Jeep with 242HD
V8 4WD Tranny Mount
D30 Front axle
Front Driveshaft