Cirryslydakotas "Can I even call this a build?" Thread - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 01-04-2016, 06:46 PM Thread Starter
Cirruslydakota
1999 WJ 

Cirryslydakotas "Can I even call this a build?" Thread

Ok, its freezing cold outside so I can't work on either the Jeep or my car and my wife has been nagging me to start a build thread instead of answering questions whenever someone notices I've done something special so lets start from the beginning way, way back in 2009.

Oh about me, I'm a full time engine mechanic for Caterpillar. I happen to work at a full scale re-manufacturing center with a machine shop, weld shop, engine shop, transmission shop, and a radiator shop. Its come in handy.

That year was the year I traded my 1995 Chrysler Cirrus after I got tired of throwing money at it (to be fair it was well over 200k and on its original A604/41TE transmission which is almost unheard of) and my sweet black on black 1998 Dodge Dakota for a 2007 Mustang GT with just 13,000 miles on it. I figured our snows didn't get that bad here anymore and I could ride out winter and find a YJ or TJ like I've always wanted as a beater to fix up in my spare time. Well 3 days after buying the car (December 3rd) we got 6 inches of fresh powder and the Mustang was AWFUL. Two months later and we would end up with 5' of snow in 3 days. I had to take an entire week off of work because I simply couldn't get to my car and even if I did I couldn't go anywhere. That's when I seriously started searching for a beater 4wd vehicle. Fast forward to the summer and I'm finding it increasingly hard to find something in my budget. I'm not a picky guy so my list was as follows:

- Readily available parts support both aftermarket and dealer.
- Be stupid easy to fix with basic tools during times of travel.
- Move itself under its own power.
- Be less than $3500
- Must be able to tow at least the weight of another car (compact)