Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

5.3, 4l60 zj

58K views 691 replies 54 participants last post by  badbird17x 
#1 ·
So I bought another jeep, it has fnr long arms 36in swampers and no doors. the engine has a hole in the block that leaks oil when I am vertical, so I decided this winter would be a good time for a engine swap. I know its a swear word around here but I am a gm guy, and have completed 2 ls swaps so I am familiar with these engines, and love them. I was looking the other day for a 6.0 for my wife's street rod and found a 5.3 that is all aluminum, around 300hp, without a tune, and flex fuel, which I'm a farmer so this is cool to me. I'm thinking I will get 2 and put one in the zj as well. I've seen other guys do this on the web, but would like your thoughts on the project, and ideas on transfer case options. This zj has a 231 in it now, but I don't see a reason why the gm one wouldn't work

#211 ·
aircruiser said:
I guess it's fair to say you are a GM guy lol
I've been for a long time. About 3 years ago I went all dodge, but couldn't take the ****ty plastic interior and crappy seats. 318s are amazingly tough but replacing mine in the Mutt was a royal pita compared to a gm. I bet I could swap the engine in my avalanche in 4-5 hours, the mutt was a long crappy day.

#212 ·
Its alive. If throttle response is an indication it's going to be fun. Wow

#214 ·
#216 ·
Search 5.3 long arm jeep zj on YouTube.

#218 ·
I tried again. It's up with no views. Wtf

#220 ·

#221 ·
:eyebulge::eyebulge::eyebulge::eyebulge::eyebulge::eyebulge::eyebulge::eyebulge::eyebulge::eyebulge::eyebulge::eyebulge::eyebulge::eyebulge::eyebulge::eyebulge:

#223 ·
ThAnks guys. I did find I'm going to have to do something with my tcase mount. It's leaking trans fluid bad, with easily 1in thick welds, wtf. Yet all the welding on exhaust pipe I did for coolant tubes and not a single leak.

#228 ·
Tonight I'm going to