Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

5.3, 4l60 zj

58K views 691 replies 54 participants last post by  badbird17x 
#1 ·
So I bought another jeep, it has fnr long arms 36in swampers and no doors. the engine has a hole in the block that leaks oil when I am vertical, so I decided this winter would be a good time for a engine swap. I know its a swear word around here but I am a gm guy, and have completed 2 ls swaps so I am familiar with these engines, and love them. I was looking the other day for a 6.0 for my wife's street rod and found a 5.3 that is all aluminum, around 300hp, without a tune, and flex fuel, which I'm a farmer so this is cool to me. I'm thinking I will get 2 and put one in the zj as well. I've seen other guys do this on the web, but would like your thoughts on the project, and ideas on transfer case options. This zj has a 231 in it now, but I don't see a reason why the gm one wouldn't work

#161 ·
Here you go grant. Is it me or is that nasty looking?

Attachments

#162 ·
Lookin great man. I can't wait to see it running.

#164 ·
Cooling pipe layout. Hot out, cool in, then aluminum cover over both. Also modded the rear into a triangulated 4 link.

Attachments

#165 ·
4 link.

Attachments

#166 ·
Rear is done except brake lines.

Attachments

#168 ·
Thank you sir.

#169 ·
Got a lot finished today. Have to tackle trans, and brakes tomorrow, then I can put the exhaust back on and measure to have driveshafts made. Then I'm down to plating the frame between fnr long arm mounts and finishing the wiring. Should hear it run in a weak when the computer gets back, and drive it when the shafts are done.

Attachments

#170 ·
This is where the limiter straps will kick in. Or full droop

Attachments

#171 ·
Body work

Attachments

#172 ·