Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

5.3, 4l60 zj

58K views 691 replies 54 participants last post by  badbird17x 
#1 ·
So I bought another jeep, it has fnr long arms 36in swampers and no doors. the engine has a hole in the block that leaks oil when I am vertical, so I decided this winter would be a good time for a engine swap. I know its a swear word around here but I am a gm guy, and have completed 2 ls swaps so I am familiar with these engines, and love them. I was looking the other day for a 6.0 for my wife's street rod and found a 5.3 that is all aluminum, around 300hp, without a tune, and flex fuel, which I'm a farmer so this is cool to me. I'm thinking I will get 2 and put one in the zj as well. I've seen other guys do this on the web, but would like your thoughts on the project, and ideas on transfer case options. This zj has a 231 in it now, but I don't see a reason why the gm one wouldn't work

#5 ·
I've used jims performance on my last 2 for the electrical end and have nothing but the best of luck with him. I contacted him on these and he will do both wiring harnesses, and tunes in the 350hp range for $1000. I can't say no.

#3 ·
The project truck

#7 ·
YEP it's a crawler. I don't see any problem with this swap, the first one I did was in my 97 crew cab gmc, gave jim my firewall forward harness out of the truck, and the harness for my lq9 6.0, and 4l80e harness. took him a week to get it back to me and thats about how long it took me to fab everything for the engine, in my spare time because this was during harvest. I got the harness put it on, started the truck withe the auto-start, and drove it home. These will be easier swaps as they will be 5 wire hookup, stand alone system.

#6 ·
#10 ·
Also this truck has chromo shafted 44 in the front and a 8.8 in the rear. I snapped a flippin u-joint the other night backing over a car. How do I make it stronger, or do I need a 60 and sell this one

#12 ·
#11 ·
this ones getting a 5.3 too

#13 ·
#16 ·
dpshoup said: