will a 258 I6 bolt to a 700r4 without a kit? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Engines & Drivetrain > will a 258 I6 bolt to a 700r4 without a kit?

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineHalloween Savings to die for!We have Engo 10k Synthetic IN STOCK!!! Hurry while supplie

Unread 07-17-2013, 06:20 PM   #1
dezdawn
1985 CJ7 

will a 258 I6 bolt to a 700r4 without a kit?

I have a 85 CJ7 with a 258 I6, and I'm wondering if I can get a 700r4 and bolt it right up? I am new to this, so please help me out

thanks

dezdawn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-17-2013, 06:21 PM   #2
dezdawn
1985 CJ7 

and if will not bolt right up, is there an auto tranny that will?
Unread 07-17-2013, 08:37 PM   #3
rjbruzan
2004 TJ Wrangler 

No it will not bolt up. Not to the engine or transfer case. Any auto that will bolt up directly will not be an overdrive non electronic trans. An AW4 out of an XJ is the closest but shifts electronically. At this time there is no store bought stand alone shift assy for it. You would have to build your own.

Ron

Its like a fart in a windstorm
It smells good but thats about it

Registered Six Offender
Home of the Buzzin Half Dozen
rjbruzan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-17-2013, 10:01 PM   #4
DaemonForce