Who reprograms stock Jeep ECU's for boost?? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Engines & Drivetrain > Who reprograms stock Jeep ECU's for boost??

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineDan's Old as Dirt Birthday Sale!GEARSHADE Pocket Tops in stock and available at ROCKRIDGE

Reply
Unread 03-15-2006, 02:41 PM   #1
WRXINTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Who reprograms stock Jeep ECU's for boost??

Anybody do this on here???
obviously I know I will need a 2 bar map sensor from a turbododge or something like that... I plan on running less than 15psi... I am thinking around 10psi max on stock pistons ...

any input on the strength of stock pistons under boost???


I am thinking about a rear mounted turbo kit on my 91 Cherokee 2wd with 4.0L/ AW4 tranny....

that or a supercharger on it....

Thanks!
RYNO

WRXINTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2006, 03:49 AM   #2
TurboTJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Steamboat Springs, CO
Posts: 24
I have a 99 TJ 4.0 running 7.5 PSI of boost but am pulling out some timing to keep the engine from knocking. For fuel you can either run a FMU or a computer modified signal. I started out with the fuel management unit but am switch to the computer. The FMU works by boosting the fuel pressure as soon as you hit boost. With this mod, the map sensor is left stock. The computer modifies the map sensore voltage and tells the ECU to inject more fuel. This is the better of the routes if possible. Either way, the guys to talk to are 505 performance. They are producing TJ turbo kits.
www.505performance.com
TurboTJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2006, 04:18 AM   #3
wildman4x4nut
Registered User
1997 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cle Elum, Washington
Posts: 75
There is a company in Calif that make a piggyback computer that will work on our Jeeps. Look up SplitSecond and look at their FTC1 or FTC1E also give them a call and discuss what you are doing. And 505 is sourcing their computer stuff from SplitSecond last I heard.
__________________
WILDMAN

Cle Elum, WA
wildman@4x4nut.com
www.4x4nut.net
wildman4x4nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2006, 05:34 AM   #4
JeeperDon
Patience, Grasshopper
 
JeeperDon's Avatar
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 6,345
These guys did my 4.3 computer, http://fuelairspark.com/
__________________
'93 YJ, '02 GM 4.3 Vortec V6, SOA, dual ARB's, 8.8+D30(w/WarnHubs), 4.88 gears, 35" BFG KM2's, AX15, 15x7 wheels, NP231+4:1+SYE+2LO, York OBA, Warn M8000, no top or doors Apr-Oct.
Member and Web guy: New Mexico 4 Wheelers My Truck Page on NM4W Site
JeeperDon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.