JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   Engines & Drivetrain (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f19/)
-   -   who makes the best spark plug? (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f19/who-makes-best-spark-plug-13004/)

Brendan 02-03-2002 08:58 AM

who makes the best spark plug?

I'm gonna be replacing my plug wires and plugs soon, and I've never done it before. Just wondering what plug to go with.

Mat&His97XJ 02-03-2002 09:15 PM

Bosch Platinum 4 plugs I here are the best by far, at about $5.00 each. You can never change the gapping though but why would you want to whe they are preset.

jeepster18_88 02-03-2002 10:14 PM

I don't know much about spark plugs but Bosch is the best. As for any performance difference, I dought that you could ever find one that made a power increase. I've heard that platinum plugs take less voltage to make a hotter spark but foul out easier if you engine burns any oil. I'd save my money and buy a regular Bosch plug set. If you ever want to upgrade your ignition to say MSD or Jacobs you would need to open up your gaps and you can't with the Platinum 4's. As for wires, any 8mm will work good.

Brendan 02-04-2002 06:24 AM

thanks alot guys, I think I'll go with bosch then.

West 02-04-2002 08:34 AM

Before you replace your wires you may want to decide if you are going to want to do the "TFI" ignition upgrade. If so you can pick up the cap, rotor and adapter you need and buy the appropriate wires. You can always purchase the TFI coil later, or just buy a perfromace coil for the duraspark like the "blaster 2F' and it will mount in the existing coil bracket and use the horseshoe connecter.

Bob K 02-05-2002 05:24 PM

My 4.2 loves Bosch Platinums. The +4's are probably a waste of money. The Juice Box ignition system is the best $130 I ever spent on my Jeep. Definitely a "Best Buy", two thumbs up.

mniemela 08-06-2008 10:24 PM