turbo my iron duke? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Engines & Drivetrain > turbo my iron duke?

XJ Rail Sale!The Ruffstuff NOT Universal 4 Link Kit!Vanco Big Brake Kit Promotion!

Unread 04-03-2013, 08:15 PM   #1
Cj5beast81
1981 CJ5 

turbo my iron duke?

So from the research i have done it is possible to turbo my 1981 cj5's iron duke carburated engine. Low pressure turbo won't even need to replace the fuel pump. I used to top out at 55 mph with the stock tires, it only has 20, 000 miles on it, and I would like to get 80 mph out of it. What do yall think. Mind you I am a broke college student....

28313_447917587176_6070018_n.jpg  
Cj5beast81 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-03-2013, 09:13 PM   #2
222Doc
Web Wheeler

2012 JK Wrangler 

I can see parts on the road when this grenades. If you are that broke I would stay away from a turbo. They must be set up well and the motor must be able to handle boost. Going to be hard to get F/a right at peak and sound like you want to push it to speeds it will not like. I was a kid my 47 at best did like 50, with the wind at my back and down hill.

Its also about gears. what Rpm are you running at 55. To get to 80 it will have to spin that much more rpm. I do not think the motor will take those rpms.
Unread 04-03-2013, 09:23 PM   #3
austin6137
1990 XJ Cherokee 

since your a broke college student you could try these
http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com/viewi...id=35496480366

http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com/viewi...id=68138107932