Rubbing noise when driving with clutch engaged? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Engines & Drivetrain > Rubbing noise when driving with clutch engaged?

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitBrand New! Quadratec LED Headlights!FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 02-12-2013, 09:53 PM   #1
kjmccar
2004 TJ Wrangler 

Rubbing noise when driving with clutch engaged?

I am a complete newbie when it comes to jeeps (and cars in general). However, I am very good at fixing things... once I know what the problem is.

After a summer of riding with the top down I was used to the loud noise of the air going by, but once I put the top up at the beginning of winter I instantly noticed a rubbing noise coming from my drive train. I can only hear it when I am driving with the clutch engaged and the faster I am going the louder it is (so I know it's behind the transmission). I didn't think much of it because I only had the jeep for a month or so with the top up before I took it down for the summer. Now I have been driving it with the top up for a couple months and the rubbing noise has gotten louder.

I don't really like taking my car to the dealership because in the past they have completely made up problems that didn't exist - so I would love to figure this out at home. All help is appreciated.

Some info about my jeep --
It's an 04 Wrangler X. I bought it used spring of 2012 with 22k miles on it.
Everything related to the drivetrain is factory installed.
I make sure to check the fluids regularly and they don't seem to be an issue.

Last edited by kjmccar; 02-12-2013 at 11:26 PM..
kjmccar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-20-2013, 09:12 AM   #2
kjmccar
2004 TJ Wrangler 

Anything?