Regearing for bigger tires... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Engines & Drivetrain > Regearing for bigger tires...

Labor day sale @ rockridge 4wd! 8/29-9/1 site wide..promo Rough Country Deals at JeepHut.comShocktober is here! Get new shocks for your Jeep!!!!

Unread 08-05-2008, 04:50 AM   #1
roadracer321
2005 TJ Wrangler 

Regearing for bigger tires...

Im new to Jeeps and to this forum, and I want to get a lift and 33s for my 05 Wrangler Sport. My question here is, the 05 has a 6 speed tranny now. The gear ratio is now different compared to the old 5 speed trannys. I think mine is something like a 4.46:1 where as the older ones are 3.83:1... I could be wrong. But if this is true, will I need to regear, or will this ratio be ok? Unfortunately, I travel a lot in my jeep, 60-70mph is not uncommon, and I do climb several steep hills at those speeds. So I dont want to have to use 4th to climb. I referenced the gear ratios from this site. http://www.conceptcarz.com/vehicle/z..._Wrangler.aspx

Thanks in advance.

roadracer321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-05-2008, 06:02 AM   #2
Pillswoj
1999 TJ Wrangler 

This is the best place to look at gear ratios. http://www.grimmjeeper.com/gears.html

You don't say what ratio you have now, is it 3.07 or 3.73. You can check your ratio by looking for the tag @ the 9 o'clock position on the differential cover, the second line of numbers sould begin with the ratio.

There has been some discussion that with the 6 speed and 33's 4.10 might be the better option due to the lower first gear and overdrive of 0.84. With my five speed, 4.56 is definitely the right gear.