How do i hook up my Quadra Trac? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Engines & Drivetrain > How do i hook up my Quadra Trac?

JK Front Lower Adjustable Control Arms!QTP Low Profile Cutouts Now @ MarylandSpeed- Free ShippingOPTIC ARMOR WINDOWS all sale now !!!!!!!!

Reply
Unread 09-18-2013, 06:04 AM   #1
bearfoot
Registered User
1977 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Boynton Beach, Florida
Posts: 22
How do i hook up my Quadra Trac?

I just bought a 1977 Cj7 with Quadra Trac. There is vacuum line off my axles about 3" long with bolts in the end of lines. There is no interior so no switch. Can anyone tell me how this all hooks up? And is there a kit to replace the lines and switch. I know nothing about Quadra Trac.

bearfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-18-2013, 08:50 AM   #2
jp360cj
Registered User
1977 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greenville, North Carolina
Posts: 1,643
There is no vacuum line on CJ axles. What you are seeing is probably just the vent line. There is an "emergency mode" for the qtrac that locks it together more like a traditional tcase. I believe this was vacuum actuated.
__________________
77 CJ-7- AMC 360, Edelbrock cam, MC2100, Fenderwells, CJ T18/D20, Chevy D44/EB 9" rear, Trutrac f/r, 4.11, SOA, 1.25 lift shackles, 35x12.50 BFG KM2s, Shackle Reversal
jp360cj is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-19-2013, 03:38 AM   #3
bearfoot
Registered User
1977 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Boynton Beach, Florida
Posts: 22
So how do i hook the switch up? I dont even have one and cant seem to find one. That little lever on the floor wont move either.This jeep is my first and it come to me with a empty tub no brakes and a bunch of summit and rugged ridge boxes.
bearfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-19-2013, 06:02 AM   #4
jp360cj
Registered User
1977 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greenville, North Carolina
Posts: 1,643
The switch is normally in the glove box. The shifter its probably for the low range unit.

That's about all I know about the qtrac. Try searching for a factory service manual (fsm) for a 76 -79 CJ. That would be the best source on how to hook up the switch
__________________
77 CJ-7- AMC 360, Edelbrock cam, MC2100, Fenderwells, CJ T18/D20, Chevy D44/EB 9" rear, Trutrac f/r, 4.11, SOA, 1.25 lift shackles, 35x12.50 BFG KM2s, Shackle Reversal
jp360cj is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-19-2013, 06:39 AM   #5
bearfoot
Registered User
1977 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Boynton Beach, Florida
Posts: 22
Thanks for the help i see how that all hooks up now.Vac switch in glove box runs the vac switch on the tcase witch moves the shifting fork in diff lock and the lever is high and low range.
bearfoot is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.