Front differential replacement? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Engines & Drivetrain > Front differential replacement?

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSavvy Billet LED Tail LightsLight up the holidays with LED lights from JeepHut

Unread 10-05-2013, 08:30 PM   #1
Twalli

Front differential replacement?

Im trying to help a friend sell his 1999 jeep wrangler and it is pushing grease out the front axle vent. There is play in and out of the front drive shaft and I am assuming that the pinon bearing is gone and water has gotten in the drive shaft. I'm not sure how long that it's been in there and I am wondering what we should do. Should I look for a used front diff or just change the bearing? I'm new to jeeps...

Twalli is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-06-2013, 09:38 AM   #2
Holder350
1995 XJ Cherokee 

This is really dependent on what shape the gears are in and what ratio they are.

I would pull the diff cover and drain the contaminated oil out.

At that point you can assess if the gears are still OK. If they are you have the option to change the pinion bearing and seal.

If they are shot, your best bet is probably swapping the entire axle.

Depending on tour gear ratio you may be able to find another axle from a xj which would be easier to find used.

Sent from my phone where correct grammar is difficult.

98' XJ Classic - D30/C8.25 - 4.5" RC Lift - 33x12.50R15 - 4.0 HO - AW4 - NP231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azzy View Post
You can tell the character of a person in how they treat someone who can do nothing for them.
Holder350 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Quick Reply

Register Now