Ford 302, Chevy 350, or AMC 360. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Engines & Drivetrain > Ford 302, Chevy 350, or AMC 360.

All Bilstein shocks & struts - Lowest Prices Ever and Santa Kolak Announces: Kolak Exhaust 20% Off Sale!Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 11-07-2013, 11:57 PM   #1
zeros52
1976 CJ5 

Ford 302, Chevy 350, or AMC 360.

I have been a member of this forum for about a year now. I have posted once or twice. But this is my first time starting a thread so if I put it in the wrong section or messed something up sorry. I have a 1976 cj5 with a ford 302, t18, and dana 20. The 302 that is currently in it is showing its age (its a 79 decoded the block) and is tired. So I'm looking at picking up a engine to rebuild and put in it. My step dad's brother in law has a ford 302 with 351 heads. He said that he doesn't know how much work it needs to get it to run. He said that he would give me a good deal on it though. How much money would you pay for it? I dont know the year of the block yet or the year of the heads. Or even if they are 351w or 351c heads. I will post when i find out though. I have to other options. There there are a few local chevy 350s going for about $100-$200 that also need to be rebuilt (knocking). Or i know of a local junkyard that has a amc 360. But they want almost $900 for it. They said that they can still start it in the vehicle and let me hear it run. But i would rebuild it either way. But seeing as my jeep already has a ford 302 in it i think the easiest swap would be with another 302. I cant just simply rebuilt the 302 that is currently in it because it is my daily driver and only vehicle. But i do plan on keeping the 302 to rebuild it one day. Thanks for your time.