Engine trouble new to jeeps - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Engines & Drivetrain > Engine trouble new to jeeps

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineAdvance Adapters SYE KitsCustom Axle Work at CCOR

Unread 03-09-2014, 01:55 PM   #1
jeepwranglr

Engine trouble new to jeeps

So I'm new to this stuff and I know I have some problems but have no idea what's going on or how to fix it I've looked at other threads and have found nothing. Here we go I have gas in my oil and very bad mpg also I'm using coolant pretty fast at least filling it once a month sometimes more i had a buddy tell me it smells like it's running rich and I sometimes smell antifreeze from engine bay I've done a fuel pressure test and a short leak down test like 5 minutes and it only dropped one or two psi other than that it showed normal readings I'm stuck and don't know what else to do. I have a jeep tj 4.0 l inline 6 101500 miles bought it used last year from a dealer I will never go back to since I've had so many problems with this amazing jeep I don't ever wanna get rid of. Oh and it also runs and starts great and isn't throwing any codes only thing is it sometimes bogs down just slightly when accelerating and by bog down I mean loses power like it's getting to much or not enough gas but it isn't like I have to stop for it to go away it slowly does it as it climbs rpms any advice would be Great.

jeepwranglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-09-2014, 05:22 PM   #2
2tall2slow
1998 XJ Cherokee 

1st off, what model jeep? When having to add coolant, are you finding lost coolant underneath jeep? Drip spots or puddles?
2tall2slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-09-2014, 08:26 PM   #3
jeepwranglr