Engine rebuild, lookin for power - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Engines & Drivetrain > Engine rebuild, lookin for power

Bill Baird Motorsports DIY parts - NalinMFG.comSwag Off Road BIG-HIT TJ-YJ Rear BumperRuffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!

Unread 04-12-2007, 04:23 PM   #1
saw2239

Engine rebuild, lookin for power

Well it finally happened, the 4.0 in my 1996 zj has hit the hay and it is time to rebuild.

I've pretty much just lurked the forums so I have read a bunch of threads about stroking the 4.0 and while I would love the added power, I am a poor college student without much in the ways of funds and this would be my daily driver. I'm also not sure if a stroker would pass CA emissions.

But while the engine is out of the Jeepers I was wondering if there are any internals that would give me some nice performance boosts?

I looked and saw that mopar offers Purple camshafts but it doesn't list what kind of performance I could get out of them, and I'm wondering how their longevity is?

Are there any other upgrades I should take a look at while my engines out?

edit: forgot to mention that this is the 2WD variant and while I do take it out on trails occationally, it's mostly going to be seeing southern californias freeways.

saw2239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-12-2007, 11:22 PM   #2
4.7stroker
1988 YJ Wrangler 

Stroke it, 4.2 crank and rods with 4.0 pistons.
Get the crank and rods from a local pick a part take the whole shebang to the machine shop.
The only additional cost is the cost of the 4.2l crank n rods.
Mine cost me around $1500
Don't know about Cali emissions though so just ignore me if the machine shop says it won't work.......

Dwayne
4.7stroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-13-2007, 11:35 AM   #3