Distributor issues - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Engines & Drivetrain > Distributor issues

Want to be able to SEE? DOT Approved Headlights for under Coil Spring Options from Ruffstuff!Flush Mount LED Bumper Lights, CREE

Unread 07-10-2013, 11:18 AM   #1
allanwms

Distributor issues

I'm new to the Wrangler but an older wrench turning Mopar guy. I bought a 93 Wrangler 4.0/5spd with 185k and have been correcting minor issues from less than adequate repairs from the PO. Overall my Wrangler is in very decent shape for its age.

I noticed that the coil was zip tied to the motor mount. Upon further inspection I noticed the distributor cap was not not seated correctly and that the wiring harness was spliced on the distributor side both at the connecter end and on the inside. I found that the mounting hole on the distributor for the cap screw was stripped. I tapped the screw lightly and the cap seated. This was a temporary fix. I could not find where the coil mounted so I drilled two holes on the jack mount and bolted it there.

I found a NOS distributor on ebay (military surplus) for a 94-95 and after some research on this forum found that it would work in my 93 without modification. The only difference that I saw was that the new distributor had a different Hall's effect...the connector was the same.