Carburetor 101, help me out please... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Engines & Drivetrain > Carburetor 101, help me out please...

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineOconeeoffroad.com Prothane bushing sale Blowing out inventPoison spyder items @ oconee off road 706 534 9955

Unread 02-19-2003, 06:35 PM   #1
4x4 XJ

Carburetor 101, help me out please...

Carburetor 101, help me out please...

I was into FI and never had a carb before. About to get a 89 YJ Islander 258 4.2 carbed. Stock carbs. How exactly does the carbs work, total newbie to carbs. In terms of injection, pumps, fuel filters, etc...what's a good upgrade to the stock carbs aside from setting up a FI system, might not be willing to do $1500 in FI material so what carbs are good as far as tuning capabilities and fuel mixture? What's all this "choke" and "cold start" and this and that...please give me the whole enchilada on Carbs 101 please, anyone that can help me out, everyone that can help me out. Thanks a lot all.

-Dimitri

BFGs
4x4 XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-19-2003, 08:56 PM   #2
johny1i

A carburetor is simply the crudest, simplest device for mixing air and fuel together. Unlike your FI which squirts fuel into the individual cylinder, a carb mixes it together then the intake manifold divides the mixture up into the different cylinders.

That said, there are really only 3 basic things to consider with a carb--mixture (rich or lean), idle speed, and fast idle/choke. Of course, if your engine isn't stock, you can get a lot more precise by changing jets, etc, but you generally won't have to get into that if your engine is stock and the carb is matched according to size.